We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous break”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a lovely stay. The staff, without exception, were helpful, polite, friendly and welcoming, without being "over the top". Excellent service from arrival to checkout! We had the deluxe four poster room with jacuzzi bath. A lovely room with loads of storage and immaculately clean. To be picky, the bed was a bit hard and the pillows weren't wonderful but for two nights I could live with that! Otherwise, the room was spacious and comfortable and had great views. We ate in the grill both nights and were impressed by the choice, quality and quantity of food. There was a good wine list and wines were reasonably priced. The choice at breakfast was more limited but the welsh breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable. We would definitely stay at the Royal Oak again.

Room Tip: The deluxe four poster with jacuzzi. Very relaxing and fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 770 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a weekend away in Snowdonia, more precisely at the Royal Oak Hotel in Betws Y Coed.

It's a traditional old coaching hotel dating back to the 1800s that has been extended in recent years and is slap bang in the middle of Betws Y Coed, overlooking the River Llugwy. Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised to see to see that we had been upgraded to a deluxe Room, in fact, it turned out to be the biggest & best room in the hotel (normally £185 per night) - thank you! Very comfortable indeed, massive 4 poster bed, big leather sofa, nice en-suite bathroom - excellent. There's a little bit of road noise at night but that's to be expected due to the main road location, not a problem really.

Breakfast is served in the Grill Room and was great, local produce and ingredients used in the Welsh cooked breakfast, plus the usual selection of cereals, fruit, juices, croissants, danish pastries etc. Couldn't fault it. Staff were all very pleasant & helpful.

Attached to the Hotel is the Stables Bar, which seems to be Betws Y Coed's main evening meeting place, as it was packed both nights we went in. Because the Dragon Rally was on, two local bands had been booked - Two Suns and After Dark. Now, Two Suns were excellent, it has to be said, but I really think that After Dark were just that tiny bit better! Great music, a great atmosphere and very pleasant time both nights we went in.

A great weekend and I can recommend the Royal Oak Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Whilst staying at Swallow Falls we ventured down the road to Bettws y Coed for an evening meal. After looking at the menus in several eateries we decided on the grill restaurant at the Royal Oak Hotel. Yes we made the right choice so much so we went the next eve. A comfortable restaurant with good service. The food was truly delicious and as stated on the menu local suppliers used. Our first eve we choice lamb rump & mallard with seasonal vegetables. Both our meals were stunning, meat perfectly cooked as were the selection of fresh vegetables and good portions too. A lovely Merlot complimented the food and we shared the welsh cheese board more than ample for two. Our second eve we chose belly pork and mixed fish grill, again excellent I can feel my taste buds going just thinking about it. We were so impressed we spoke to the young polish chef and complimented him on his cooking. If you are passing and are hungry you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mange57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stopped off to the Royal Oak for lunch before a sailing from Holyhead and I can tell you it was so worth the visit.What a beautiful part of Wales this is and definitly a place I would love to return and explore more.Lunch was just fab and this is seafood at its best. We had buttefly salmon,fresh trout,sea bass and haddock and after tasting each others lunch,I was at a loss to come to any conclusion which tasted the best- it really was seafood at it best . Staff are very friendly and there is ample parking.After a little drive around the area,it was with a heavy heart we headed to Holyhead...........We shall be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked The Royal Oak based on a spontaneous decision to take a trip to the mountains. Online booking process was quick and concise and we arrived approximately 4 hours later and all was in order with regards to checking in. Parking was available free (permit provided) directly opposite the hotel.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was a great size with a bath and shower (over bath) - just what you need if you've been up in the hills. Possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in - seriously! As part of our stay we had access to the leisure facilities of their sister hotel but we did not have time to use them.

Breakfast was included in our rate and there is a choice of continental or full welsh which we would highly recommend. For those walkers among you, there is the ability to request a packed lunch but we did not try this.

The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and were a great source of local information.

The only downside I would say is that dependent on where your room is located, it can be a tad noisy as some rooms are above The Stable Bar.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms towards the front may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Lynchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We popped in the lounge on New Years Day for a cake & hot drink. We went into the bar lounge. The decor is lovely, warm and welcoming. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
We both ordered a scone with Jam, and a hot chocolate. It was served very quickly, and the scone was huge. It comes with plenty of butter and an individual pot of strawberry jam.
We spent quite a while here, reading the paper and enjoying the atmosphere.
It was a lovely way to spend a cold afternoon. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went for sunday lunch on 30th December so naturally the place was very busy. Our booking changed from 9 people to 16 on the same day and the hotel were more than happy to accommodate the group.

Set menu price was very reasonable with a wide range of food although one main vegetarian option was restrictive. The food was tasty and fresh and we didnt have to wait long between courses despite the size of the group. They were also able to offer a separate children's menu.

We did have one or two minor issues such as one plate coming out with no potatoes however the staff dealt with everything immediately to our satisfaction and the issues were nothing worse than every day things that can happen in any restaurant.

I would definitely recommend for a sunday lunch treat.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jwj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
24.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $105 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing