We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$100
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$139
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glyntwrog House(Betws-y-Coed)
$107
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eagles(Betws-y-Coed)(Great Value!)
$52
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vagabond(Betws-y-Coed)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
437
271
89
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
271
89
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillstables barstables lodgesunday lunchlovely hotelsuperior roommain restaurantlambfish and chipshotel restaurantate herenorth walesan evening mealone night stayboth nightscouldn't faultlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 842 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We popped in the lounge on New Years Day for a cake & hot drink. We went into the bar lounge. The decor is lovely, warm and welcoming. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
We both ordered a scone with Jam, and a hot chocolate. It was served very quickly, and the scone was huge. It comes with plenty of butter and an individual pot of strawberry jam.
We spent quite a while here, reading the paper and enjoying the atmosphere.
It was a lovely way to spend a cold afternoon. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went for sunday lunch on 30th December so naturally the place was very busy. Our booking changed from 9 people to 16 on the same day and the hotel were more than happy to accommodate the group.

Set menu price was very reasonable with a wide range of food although one main vegetarian option was restrictive. The food was tasty and fresh and we didnt have to wait long between courses despite the size of the group. They were also able to offer a separate children's menu.

We did have one or two minor issues such as one plate coming out with no potatoes however the staff dealt with everything immediately to our satisfaction and the issues were nothing worse than every day things that can happen in any restaurant.

I would definitely recommend for a sunday lunch treat.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jwj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed Sunday Lunch in the Grill Bar/Converatory with the family Sunday before Christmas. Excellent service and the food was great. Good vegetarian options for our daughter.
Then enjoyed some last minute shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blod_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We came to Betws-y-coed on a weekend away for a 21st Birthday.

6 of us arrived early on the Friday and decided for a spot of lunch.

We ordered two plates of cheesy nachos to share as a starter, then had:
2 x Venison Burgers from the Specials board (which also had pheasant)
Gammon
Creamy Pasta Bake
Salmon
Another dish I cant remeber

accompanying salads, veg and chips were in abundance and very tasty

Not the cheapest lunch, but food was tasty and hot and the service friendly and quick - what more can you ask for really??

Will be back next time we visit

Also to note, had a few drinks in the bar over the weekend and the restaurant was always full - very good sign !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Another good deal with the Stables Lodge (Annex Royal Oak Hotel). Warm comfortable room with plenty of hot water for a bath after a day's hard walking or cycling.
Free wi-fi is becoming the norm in these small quality hotels plus free generous parking that allows you to park for the rest of the day even though you have checked out that morning.
No hidden expensive extras and a good pub and restaurant within the hotel.
Ticks all my boxes.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the big tree outside with all the crows in it (unless you are a twitcher that is!)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rewop46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews