We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday North Wales”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband & I spent a week here. We found the staff especially Sharron & Victoria very helpful, room was clean with a view of the river. Food was excellant but found the Llugwy Restaurant a bit disappointing. had most meals in the grill bar.
Will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room overlooking the river and playing field so we cannot comment on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 780 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel facilities in a sister hotel really comfortable stay with a very tasty and fresh breakfast

Room Tip: front end of hotel has more pleasant scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in January 2012. We found the hotel to be very pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly, the bar and restaurant were nice and modern. Althought expensive, dinner in the restaurant was lovely, as was breakfast. Would stay there again. The location in the town was perfect for exploring on foot and it almost felt like th focal point of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAH11532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We found that this hotel's biggest asset was the staff, who were so friendly, helpful and accommodating that they changed my review! The downside is that for what you get it is very expensive. We stayed on a Saturday night as a family. My son was on a old camp bed that I had to make up myself and that barely fitted in the room but we asked for it last minute as we forgot his own camp bed. That said, we would have struggled to fit that in as well and they knew about that. The room was clean and well kept, the bathroom likewise and the shower was great. We were on the back of the hotel, over the pub from the sound of it, which made it difficult to use the baby intercom I had said I would be using too as we were so far away from the function room.
The telephone booking was not great and it was obvious that much of what I said had not been recorded or listened to, however the staff were so fantastic on our arrival at accommodating us, adjusting to the fact we had a child with us and so willing to do anything for you, that my review improved immeasurably!

Room Tip: Ensure that you tell staff if you aren't happy. They don't take enough info over the phone a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlizLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in March and had 1 night reduced rate. Not sure if we had a superior or deluxe bedroom but on first inspections it was roomy, clean and had a huge sleigh bed. Unfortunately we discovered during our stay that the sink did not drain well in the ensuite, the bathroom floor sloped badly (causing an issue when getting out of the shower), the light in the bathroom kept going off if you were not constantly moving and the TV did not work.
We ate in the Grill Bar on both evening and the food was ok, however the atmosphere on the Friday night was somewhat lacking and we had 2 courses within 40 minutes and felt rushed whereas on the Saurday evening service was a little longer and much more enjoyable.
We were also confused by breakfast as on the saturday we were escorted to our seats and asked what we would like whereas on the sunday we were told to sit where we wanted and as i was getting a glass of juice happend to notice breakfast was buffet style that morning. When we checked in we were told there was a large party booked in the restaurant on the saturday evening and I believe that most of them stayed over so can only assume the buffet style breakfast was due to this. Breakfast on the sunday was also a bit like feeding time at the zoo with some of the party shouting and squealing and whilst the actions of other guests is not the responsibility of the hotel i feel a member of staff should have said something to try and calm things down. Overall I found the Royal Oak to be very expensive and am very dissappointed with the level of service. I will not be returining.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We went for dinner in the hotel, having climbed Snowdon and back in the day. The service was slow and we were repeatedly having to stand to get attention. The menu was good and the food was probably tasty but my meal was SO hot - certainly microwaved - that I burned my tongue. This was not a little burn, it was still painful 4 days later.

The only way tongetbto pay the bill was to put our coats on and stand at the till waiting service.

Big shame - very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2012
12  Thank Croftym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Royal Oak Grill.
I've eaten in many restaurants but have never experienced such a poor serving of food. The Thai curry consisted of four prawns, a few strips of red peppers and a spoonful of thin sauce of which there was not enough to flavour all the rice. I do not expect huge quantities but I do expect a Thai curry to contain vegetables and some sort of substance. Perhaps somebody slipped up in the kitchen but I will not be returning to this restaurant to find out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Caddynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassedor, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Having researched Thai food on the internet and television and travelled extensively throughout the Middle East and Australasia, our Catering Manger believes that the dish we serve is authentic and an accurate representation of Thai ‘cuisine', although we readily accept that we do not hold ourselves out or advertise ourselves as an authentic Thai restaurant. Our portion control and costing for that dish allows for 10 prawns and therefore if you were only served 4 than obviously that was down to human error, which would have corrected as soon as possible if drawn to our attention.

We very much regret that any customer should have any reason to be disappointed with any element of our product and service range. We constantly monitor all guest feedback to ensure standards and customer expectations are being met. Any lessons that can be learned are always embraced without delay; this being one of the main advantages of a family run business. We are committed to complete guest satisfaction each and every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
33 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $104 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing