We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in January 2012. We found the hotel to be very pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly, the bar and restaurant were nice and modern. Althought expensive, dinner in the restaurant was lovely, as was breakfast. Would stay there again. The location in the town was perfect for exploring on foot and it almost felt like th focal point of the town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAH11532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    202
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
139
346
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We found that this hotel's biggest asset was the staff, who were so friendly, helpful and accommodating that they changed my review! The downside is that for what you get it is very expensive. We stayed on a Saturday night as a family. My son was on a old camp bed that I had to make up myself and that barely fitted in the room but we asked for it last minute as we forgot his own camp bed. That said, we would have struggled to fit that in as well and they knew about that. The room was clean and well kept, the bathroom likewise and the shower was great. We were on the back of the hotel, over the pub from the sound of it, which made it difficult to use the baby intercom I had said I would be using too as we were so far away from the function room.
The telephone booking was not great and it was obvious that much of what I said had not been recorded or listened to, however the staff were so fantastic on our arrival at accommodating us, adjusting to the fact we had a child with us and so willing to do anything for you, that my review improved immeasurably!

Room Tip: Ensure that you tell staff if you aren't happy. They don't take enough info over the phone a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlizLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in March and had 1 night reduced rate. Not sure if we had a superior or deluxe bedroom but on first inspections it was roomy, clean and had a huge sleigh bed. Unfortunately we discovered during our stay that the sink did not drain well in the ensuite, the bathroom floor sloped badly (causing an issue when getting out of the shower), the light in the bathroom kept going off if you were not constantly moving and the TV did not work.
We ate in the Grill Bar on both evening and the food was ok, however the atmosphere on the Friday night was somewhat lacking and we had 2 courses within 40 minutes and felt rushed whereas on the Saurday evening service was a little longer and much more enjoyable.
We were also confused by breakfast as on the saturday we were escorted to our seats and asked what we would like whereas on the sunday we were told to sit where we wanted and as i was getting a glass of juice happend to notice breakfast was buffet style that morning. When we checked in we were told there was a large party booked in the restaurant on the saturday evening and I believe that most of them stayed over so can only assume the buffet style breakfast was due to this. Breakfast on the sunday was also a bit like feeding time at the zoo with some of the party shouting and squealing and whilst the actions of other guests is not the responsibility of the hotel i feel a member of staff should have said something to try and calm things down. Overall I found the Royal Oak to be very expensive and am very dissappointed with the level of service. I will not be returining.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We went for dinner in the hotel, having climbed Snowdon and back in the day. The service was slow and we were repeatedly having to stand to get attention. The menu was good and the food was probably tasty but my meal was SO hot - certainly microwaved - that I burned my tongue. This was not a little burn, it was still painful 4 days later.

The only way tongetbto pay the bill was to put our coats on and stand at the till waiting service.

Big shame - very disappointing.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Croftym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Royal Oak Grill.
I've eaten in many restaurants but have never experienced such a poor serving of food. The Thai curry consisted of four prawns, a few strips of red peppers and a spoonful of thin sauce of which there was not enough to flavour all the rice. I do not expect huge quantities but I do expect a Thai curry to contain vegetables and some sort of substance. Perhaps somebody slipped up in the kitchen but I will not be returning to this restaurant to find out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caddynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassedor, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Having researched Thai food on the internet and television and travelled extensively throughout the Middle East and Australasia, our Catering Manger believes that the dish we serve is authentic and an accurate representation of Thai ‘cuisine', although we readily accept that we do not hold ourselves out or advertise ourselves as an authentic Thai restaurant. Our portion control and costing for that dish allows for 10 prawns and therefore if you were only served 4 than obviously that was down to human error, which would have corrected as soon as possible if drawn to our attention.

We very much regret that any customer should have any reason to be disappointed with any element of our product and service range. We constantly monitor all guest feedback to ensure standards and customer expectations are being met. Any lessons that can be learned are always embraced without delay; this being one of the main advantages of a family run business. We are committed to complete guest satisfaction each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had a fabulous evening in the Royal Oak on Saturday 31st March. Me and my wife called in for a drink and ended up stopping for a meal because the food they were bringing out looked gorgeous, and it was,as well as a fantastic atmosphere with very nice people of young and old,and No music ! I love music,but in these surroundings you didn't need it.

Room Tip: Didn't stay there but would in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgil1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northchurch
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I did'nt stay at this hotel (thought I should make that clear) but did eat, and I can say that it is really a very lovely place to go for a meal, the staff were courteous and polite, and genuinly seemed to care that the experience had in the restaurant was good. The food itself was lovely, and the portions generous, so much so that my son (who typically complains about being hungry with most childrens potions) could'nt even finih his main, even going so far as to decline dessert (a previously unheard of occurence). A lovely place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzyazeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing