We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb service from all the staff we met”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“superb service from all the staff we met”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

only spent the one night after being persuaded by the hotel reception team that this was the best hotel in Betws.
But i must admit they where right as we had a lovely night,room good,bar service SLUGGISH(only-joking) & the breakfast was good,but i do prefer a cooked to order instead of self-service---being picky now.
Thank-you all

Room Tip: our room was at the rear of hotel----very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    211
    77
    25
    15
See reviews for
140
359
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Cardiff
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

...we didn't stay at the hotel but used Stables bar for food on two occasions. The food was superb each time and the service excellent. Great outdoor, heated, covered area ...all in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceriliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

although we didn't stay in the actual hotel, we ate in the restaurant 2 nights running. the food (mostly local welsh produce) was very good. i had a steak there on the second night and it was certainly one of the best i have had. the prices are quite reasonable too. the only niggle i had was over the service - a bit on the slow side, but then again, the food made up for it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobwinmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
269 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We booked this the night before on the spare of the moment and from the minute our reservation was made we felt comfortable and relaxed. We only stayed one night, Easter Sunday, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had booked dinner bed+breakfast and chose to have dinner in the 2 AA rosette Llugwy Restaurant which was only open on the Sunday as it was a Bank Holiday. We were really glad we had as the food was excellent and the wine list varied and inexpensive. The service was also very good in the restaurant, the bar both before and after the meal and continued at breakfast the following morning. This Hotel has a lovely atmosphere- friendly and relaxing- and was a haven among the crowds that were visiting Betws y Coed over the Easter break. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed here two night. One night in the hotel and one in the Lodge. Both were very clean and comfortable. The family room we had in the hotel was great with two bathrooms, KIng bed and two twins. Very spacious! The Lodge was not as luxurious (but cost was less) but just as clean with a king bed and double sofa bed. We moved rooms as the hotel room was not available for a 2nd night. The hotel moved our bags for us from the hotel to the Lodge. Sam at the front desk could not have been nicer and was very helpful. Breakfast was included but nothing to rave about. Potato cakes (hashbrowns) were too greasy. The hotel is located in a super location for traveling out for day trips. We easily went to Harlech Castle and Portmerion in one day. Conwys is an easy drive as well - under an hour. Can go also catch the train up Snowdon with an easy drive to the station. You have entry into a fitness center with swimming pool at a sister hotel down the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blazer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

stayed one night in a family room , biggest bed ever slept in . evening meal in the Llugwy Restaurant was delicious , recently decorated and furnished . staff were very friendly and efficient . our second time staying here and was not disappointed.made our 25th wedding anniversary weekend with our in-laws very special .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. We mentioned it was our anniversary and were given a free upgrade to a premier room. The staff were all very helpful and attentive, even finding return train times for us as we needed to get home a bit earlier than planned. The restaurant service was excellent, and the food well presented and piping hot. The Breakfast menu was full and the food was also hot and well presented, even the croissants were hot! The only problem we had was the room was very warm; we could not find how to turn the old-style radiators off, and we had to sleep with the sash windows open, not too good on a main trunk road! However, on questioning the receptionists the next morning, they told us that they could turn the radiators down if we asked, as they kept the spanner there!. All-in-all, a very enjoyable experience,and we will definitely consider staying there for a short break again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frostyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
445 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing