We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. . . but not worth the money!”
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in room 9A. We were greeted with the key only and no information about breakfast etc. and were shown to our room which was nice, if a little noisy from the busy road outside. My problem with this hoel is that I expected so much more from the photographs and the money(£90 odd quid a night is not cheap). The room was just not up to scratch with an electric heater screwed onto the wall a small window overlooking the kitchen extension, hot water from a heated unit etc. I really did expect a little more. My evening meal was lovely although my girlfriends was not, Overcooked lobster she couldn`t chew and the breakfasts were a bit on the stingy side.
Not a bad hotel but not as good as I expected.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_in_hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 690 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the ty gwyn hotel, staying in the alpine suite, what a room four poster bed with hot tub in bathroom it was amazing. We ate in the hotel both nights the food was amazing cooked to perfection and presented beautifully, service was good we were not rushed, the restaurant was beautiful the setting was perfect for us, well we were on our honeymoon! well worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank molliewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank heliona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank archietee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank merseysidewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allworkandnoplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hillchasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $115 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing