We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ty Gwyn Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse(Betws-y-Coed)(Great Value!)
$48
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$145
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eagles Hotel(Llanrwst)(Great Value!)
$133
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge Conwy(Tal-y-Bont)
$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveler rating
439
172
59
32
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
172
59
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower blockspa bathquirky hotelmenu is extensivelow ceilingsolde worldebusy roadlamb wellingtonfour poster bedshepherds pieboth nightsscallopssuperb foodlots of charactercoach houselovely atmospherekippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 710 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend break, after looking for somewhere nice and with close proximity to Snowdon . All rooms are individual & we stayed in room 6 - which was perfect . Decorated lovely with loads of character. The food was very good - breakfast was excellent, and the menu choice for evening meal was very extensive - everyone agreed their meal was delicious. The bar and restaurant areas are very cosy - perfect for after a day out walking . Really loved this place, would always prefer somewhere more individual over a large hotel and this fitted the bill perfectly . Will definitely be back .

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wishiwasthere78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Everything you expect from an old coaching inn - low beamed ceilings, sloping floors (but in a good way) and welcoming hosts. What you might not expect is such an extensive menu. The food was really good - we had seafood lasagne and Thai fillet of beef for starters, lamb shank and leg of lamb steak for main - and the portions were enormous! We couldn't handle desert and had to go for a walk into Betws-y-Coed after dinner as we were so full. Breakfast was also good. We were only here one night but would come back and explore the area a bit more next time. Our bedroom was very pretty and beautifully decorated. Ty Gwyn hotel is full of character so if you want boring regularity go elsewhere!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. It has a beautiful ambience and is a gorgeous coaching inn. It is not 4 star luxury but it's comfortable with nice rooms all individually decorated. We had a bit of a problem with the shower stating hot but it was fine I'm sure it was our management not the shower! . The inn is old and quirky which I like and the staff are friendly and knowledgable of the area and the food is simply amazing and outstanding . I have never had scallops and mussels that have tasted so good and have eaten in some fantastic restaurants over the years. The food is priced exceptionally competitively and infact puts me off wanting to eat anywhere but here when I visit betws. This is probably one of my most favourite places in wales. We will be back without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

An old coaching house is bound to have small rooms, uneven floors and low ceilings that are good for head-bumping. You have to decide if you want a trip back in time or something more comfortable. Celine was so sweet and helped us so much. Dinner with candelabra and seafood thermidor was outstanding;breakfast was underserved, waited for coffee, waited for juice, waited for silverware, waited for coffee cups--and this was toward the end of the breakfast service time when only a few people were still eating. Parking is very limited and you're on an intersection accurately called Death Corner (or Street or something). I can't say the beds were very comfortable, but it was beautifully decorated in Old World charm. Within walking distance to some nice shops. I wondered what it would have been like to stay in the Royal Oak instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed nearby but advised to eat there. Was good advice food superb. The Scallops unbelievable, my other half is v particular with the cooking of his steak said was perfection. Daughter 12yrs ate everything in front of her especially the Lemon Posset desert. Went for two meals there want more !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HUSS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews