We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday”
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed here for four nights which we booked via the hotel website.
We'd seen this lovely place many times on our regular trips to Wales and decided to try it as our trip was to celebrate a birthday.
We received a quick email reply to confirm our booking and there was no problem booking in on our arrival.

The room (rm 5) was comfortable but small with no bathroom. There is a shower room and bathroom down the hall. The rooms are all apparently being refurbed. Ours had obviously had a recent update.
The food has had many good reviews and for excellent reason. We had breakfast each morning and booked one main meal. The rest of the time we ate out as there are plenty of places in Llandudno, Betws-y-coed etc. The meal prices are on the high side but when you see how much you get on your plate and the quality of the food, then it's worth every penny.

The staff are helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. We asked to switch rooms and they sorted this as soon as they were able. We also managed to lock ourselves out of our new room quite late at night and they managed to get us back in again after a member of staff squeezed through the little open window in our room................

The only minor negatives are parking issues, lack of ensuite facilities in some rooms and some cleanliness problems.

This is a busy hotel both for accommodation and in the restaurant. It is situated on a very busy main road with only a tiny parking area which will be used by the restaurant guests. We only managed to get a parking spot in the car park once.
When booking a room online, double check if you need an ensuite. This is not very obvious. And their own leaflet states all rooms have ensuite.
As stated, we did swap rooms. All the bathroom facilities we did use were in need of a deep clean or upgrading. A mouldy shower is never nice.

This is a fantastic hotel and worth every penny to either stay or just use the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dizzyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Ty Gwyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 681 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2008

Whilst having a short break in Penmachno to celebrate my husbands birthday we went to Ty Gwyn for a meal . I booked in advance as previous reviewers advised that it is a very busy restaurant - which was the case .
The restaurant met all expectations from reading previous reviews and we all had an enjoyable evening . The food was fantastic as was the surroundings and staff . We would thoroughly recommend the restaurant and hope to return in the future .

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank emmanicolaliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights as a base for exploring Snowdonia. We had room number 10 which had a four poster bed, lovely decor and ensuite shower room. The hotel is quirky and the food is pretty good, the breakfasts will def keep you going!
You need to be aware that this hotel is right on the A5 and though our room was at the back it was a bit nosiy as we had a fan outside our room, but it didn't bother us that much. There were only two things that we thought could be improved, one the shower didn't have a light in the cubicle which meant it was dark, so with bad eye sight need to be careful and the secondly the mattress needs replacing as I could feel the springs quite a lot and it wasn't comfotable, but we didn't know how to tell them! With the four poster one thing I forgot when booking is that my husband is over 6ft which was challenging for his legs, opps. Overall it is a lovely place, the staff were down to earth and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pengip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

A beautiful old coaching inn that has been updated sympathetically. The accommodation more than met our requirements for the price we paid (we stayed in room 9a). Fantastic restaurant with made to order breakfasts - which are just amazing and kept us going all the way up Mount Snowdon!! The dinner menu was equally of a high standard. The decking area to the rear, gives spectacular views. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

I really want to like this hotel, but I think we had some bad luck with timing which hurt my impressions. The room was tiny, but quaint and clean. Unforunately, the heater was stuck on full blast, which made for a warm night. We opened the windows, but the hotel is on a major road, which made for a really horrible night's sleep. The owner wasn't around when we arrived, so we weren't overly impressed with the welcome we got. The hotel does have a fabulous restaurant attached--and while the service wasn't great (bordering on bad) the food was amazing. In fact, the dinner (and a great breakfast the following morning) made the whole experience worth it. Overall, the price and location are right, just ask for a room away from the road!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skeeteratredhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Ty Gwyn is an old Coaching in, just outside Betws y Coed, in a lovely riverside spot. Being very old it has had to be upgraded to cater for modern needs, so some of the bathrooms may be a bit of a squeeze, but our room was very comfortable despite this, and excellent value at £72/night for 2 with a substantial breakfast. Some rooms at rear are cheaper still.
Probably not a hotel for young children, as it is really a pub/restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel, but for sheer warmth of welcome, attentiveness of service, and convenience of location within the Snowdonia National Park, it clearly is ideal for older people, walkers, cyclists and those who need a comfortable bed and excellent food.
The restaurant was popular not only with residents, but also with local non-residents.
An imaginative menu (Boar, Goose, Partridge, as well as the usual suspects), beautifully cooked, but especially the size of the portions means that you won't want to eat anywhere else. We found that a good breakfast meant no need for lunch or snacking whilst on a day's walk, and we found no one capable of attempting, let alone succeeding with, 3 courses in the evening at Dinner! Try the half shoulder of lamb -it took over half an hour to demolish !!. Apart from that they serve some very decent real ales as well.
We were recommended to try it by our son and his fiancee who had visited a year or so ago, and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SheepsbottomonaPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

There is so much to say about this hotel, the atmosphere is friendly, easy going and welcoming. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equiped with excellent en-suite facilities, our room 9B had a spa bath and shower with its own boiler, so constant hot water. There is so much to choose from on the menu and special board, the 1st night I had lobster, extremely good. I would definately recommend the Ty Gwyn all credit to Martin, Nicola and all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.5 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $114 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing