We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good location, although road a bit noisy. Large comfortable and recently re-furbished bedroom, and very pleasant and helpful staff. The restaurant however is quite exceptional and very reasonably priced – lots of choice, and all of the meals and courses were superb and cooked to a very high standard. The wine too were very reasonable.

If staying elsewhere in the area (ie North Wales!) would strongly recommend visiting the restaurant, but you need to book.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and your many kind words which is so pleasing to read and do hope you will visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    154
    51
    29
    8
See reviews for
92
362
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed in the cozy cottage behind the pub for a weekend mid May this year as we have a dog and they're only allowed in one of the pub's rooms. Clean accommodation with a bedroom, en suite and lounge/dining/kitchen area. Only gripe was there were no mugs for our tea and coffee! Outside there's a small patio area with table and chairs if you choose to eat al fresco. We ate both nights in the pub and were really impressed by the menu, wine list and service. I'm a vegetarian and had plenty of choice - all well-presented, freshly cooked and tasty. Equally, my husband declared the fish and pork he had each night as superb. Had a good walk up the Glyders (in hail and snow!) so were ready for some good food and beer. Very friendly staff, helpful and chatty owner. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellymacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback
We look forward welcoming you back in the future
We have added mugs to the tea and coffee facility tray !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Myself and my husband have just arrived back from a wonderful 3 night stay at Ty Gwyn. The place itself is stunning. Our room was perfect and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we felt very at home. The food is superb - I mean really superb! Honestly cannot fault it. Will definitely visit again. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibbles32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your visit to us
I have forwarded your compliments on to the team
We look forward welcoming you home again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Ty Gwyn for only one night. It is a lovely old building full of character. The room was clean and cosy, even though it was right above the road it was well insulated enough to get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was all we could have hoped for. The only thing I could say in the negative was that it would have been nice if the staff were a little more friendly, compared with other 'hosted' B & Bs this one rated poorly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for spending your time to comment on your recent stay.
Please note that your constructive comments have been appreciated and taken on board.
Do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We just stayed for one night at this Inn, wish it had been more. I had checked the reviews for Ty Gwyn and they were almost too good to be true, i shouldn't have worried, they were spot on. From the moment we arrived the staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely atmosphere and ambiance, great host and the food was to die for, we are already thinking about our next visit, the only tricky decision is what to have next off the menu.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper go for a room at the back of the Inn away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droitwichWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Owner at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your short stay at the ty gwyn. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Ty Gwyn for 3 nights during the Easter holidays with our 2 children (aged 11 & 7). The whole place is so full of character as was our room (9B). There was a separate (ante) room for the children to sleep in and then a spacious room with double doors to a balcony and a four poster bed for my husand and myself - which was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The bathroom had a spa bath which the children adored! Then there was the food ... we ate there each night and were never disappointed; it was fabulous and so fresh. The entire staff were friendly and helpful at all times and you feel comfortable and so 'at home' for the duration of your stay. Ty Gwyn is a real find and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: 9B is perfect if you have children because they can sleep in the separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days and thoroughly loved it. The food was excellent, well presented and reasonably priced. The staff were attentive and friendly.

The room was cosy and nicely decorated. We're looking to book again so as we felt relaxed after our short stay. We highly recommend the Ty Gwyn Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Property: Ty Gwyn Hotel
Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing