We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the food!”
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stay for the food!”
Reviewed April 24, 2008

I really want to like this hotel, but I think we had some bad luck with timing which hurt my impressions. The room was tiny, but quaint and clean. Unforunately, the heater was stuck on full blast, which made for a warm night. We opened the windows, but the hotel is on a major road, which made for a really horrible night's sleep. The owner wasn't around when we arrived, so we weren't overly impressed with the welcome we got. The hotel does have a fabulous restaurant attached--and while the service wasn't great (bordering on bad) the food was amazing. In fact, the dinner (and a great breakfast the following morning) made the whole experience worth it. Overall, the price and location are right, just ask for a room away from the road!

  • Liked — the attached restaurant
  • Disliked — the noise from the road
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skeeteratredhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    156
    52
    30
    8
See reviews for
92
368
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Ty Gwyn is an old Coaching in, just outside Betws y Coed, in a lovely riverside spot. Being very old it has had to be upgraded to cater for modern needs, so some of the bathrooms may be a bit of a squeeze, but our room was very comfortable despite this, and excellent value at £72/night for 2 with a substantial breakfast. Some rooms at rear are cheaper still.
Probably not a hotel for young children, as it is really a pub/restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel, but for sheer warmth of welcome, attentiveness of service, and convenience of location within the Snowdonia National Park, it clearly is ideal for older people, walkers, cyclists and those who need a comfortable bed and excellent food.
The restaurant was popular not only with residents, but also with local non-residents.
An imaginative menu (Boar, Goose, Partridge, as well as the usual suspects), beautifully cooked, but especially the size of the portions means that you won't want to eat anywhere else. We found that a good breakfast meant no need for lunch or snacking whilst on a day's walk, and we found no one capable of attempting, let alone succeeding with, 3 courses in the evening at Dinner! Try the half shoulder of lamb -it took over half an hour to demolish !!. Apart from that they serve some very decent real ales as well.
We were recommended to try it by our son and his fiancee who had visited a year or so ago, and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere and good service
  • Disliked — Cramped shower room, but nothing serious-what do you expect in a converted 17th century Inn?
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SheepsbottomonaPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
45
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2008

There is so much to say about this hotel, the atmosphere is friendly, easy going and welcoming. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equiped with excellent en-suite facilities, our room 9B had a spa bath and shower with its own boiler, so constant hot water. There is so much to choose from on the menu and special board, the 1st night I had lobster, extremely good. I would definately recommend the Ty Gwyn all credit to Martin, Nicola and all the staff.

  • Liked — Good food & old world decoration and atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Booked a 4 night stay at Ty Gwyn which more than lived up to the billing. A hotel of genuine charm. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful .Even on the Wednesday evening when the restaurant was much busier than anyone had anticipated the level of service was excellent.
The meals were always adventurous, excellently cooked and plentiful - we ate there every evening!
The bedroom was warm and cosy.
The Ty Gwyn as well as being an excellent base for walking and sightseeing in North Wales is a reason in itself to return to Betws-y-Coed.
We shall return

Denise and Steve
Lancashire

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IcicleWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Quite frankly I dont think I've come across a more friendly and atmospheric hotel such as the Ty Gwyn before.
From the initial booking, to the welcome and the departure I received nothing but courtesy and excellent service from everyone.
The room was very comfortable which is needed after completing Snowdon in the fog and rain, the water was plentiful and piping hot, again much needed and as for the meals, well, the quality was outstanding. All the waiting staff have a smile on their face and were happy to discuss the menu.
Basically my experience there was so good I am returning in April for another three nights.

A lovely place to stay and without sounding like a brochure, use the Ty Gwyn to explore this wonderful part of Wales.

  • Liked — The food, and the proximity to Snowdon
  • Disliked — Little, if any grievance at all
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cribba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Ty Gwyn has bags of charm and character, the food is extremely tasty and the portions are generous but there are some problems with the accomodation.

In our first room (9b - £120 a night) only one of the aged heaters worked, a previous occupant's underwear was still in the room, there was a watery bowl of cigarette buts on the balcony, the bathroom lights did not work and the tap had been broken off the bath. We spent an embarrasing amount of time watching the resident handy man mend the tap only to find that the water boiler was not working.

With an hour to spare before dinner we repacked and moved to another room (10 - £85 a night). The soap dish had fallen off the shower wall and had been left on the windowsill, the shaver light did not work, there was no toilet roll so I had to raid a 'vacant' room, the old mattress had so many springs poking through that I actually slept on the floor and yet again there was no hot water!

During our entire stay the mains water was a rusty brown, no explanation or clean water was offered in fact we did not see any Management just two girls who by their own admission did not have a clue.

I did give the Management an opportunity to comment but they did not reply to my letter which is a shame as this could be a wonderful place to stay with a little bit of work.

  • Liked — Charm and character
  • Disliked — Lack of clean, hot water
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2008

From arrival to departure we enjoyed this wonderful retreat. Very friendly staff, excellent service, fabulous room with four-poster and jacuzzi, superb restaurant, well-stocked bar. The breakfast was delicious with fresh juices, fruit, cereals and substantial fry. The staff have extensive knowledge on the area offering useful advice. Overall good value for money and definitely to be repeated.

  • Liked — room and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itstheprices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Property: Ty Gwyn Hotel
Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing