We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and good food”
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2008

This attractive inn/hotel is just to the east of Betws y Coed (pronounced Betoos a Coyd and meaning Oratory of the Wood) on the A5 in Snowdonia, North Wales. My wife and I have stayed here, and eaten here, on a number of occasions, particularly out of season.

The dinner was delicious and the cooked breakfast was traditional. Service for both was good, if a little slow at breakfast.

The bedrooms are currently being refurbished one by one over a period. We had a clean double room, costing a total of £52 for bed and breakfast for 2 people. The bathroom was a short walk along the corridor. Some rooms have en suite facilities.

The bed was comfortable and the bedroom was appealingly rustic in its decor, as is the hotel generally. However, the restaurant carpet is threadbare and some of the wall hangings are looking rather tired.

The inn sits alongside the A5 with a small 'layby' style car park. You can also park on the main road if there is no room elsewhere.

Overall, this is a lovely little place to stay for a night or two for good food, walking and relaxation - inn style.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 697 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2008

Unfortunately the hotel ran out of the following during our 2 night weekend stay:-
1. Hot water (none in room 11 or room 2 for the whole duration)
2. Twice baked cheese souffle starter (Saturday night)
3. One of the Beers (Saturday night)
4. Sausages for breakfast (on the Sunday morning)
5. Pigeon starter (Friday night)
6. Rabbit main course (Saturday night)
7. Brown bread for breakfast on the Saturday morning (hadn't been delivered)

We were very dissappointed particularly as we had recommended it to our work colleagues and had booked 2 room for the Friday night and 4 rooms for the Saturday night.

The owner offered us discount on the two rooms with no hot water and offered us an alternative bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I think of accomodation as a place to rest your head after a busy day of walking or sightseeing--so while we don't necessarily require a ton of amenities, it is important that the places we stay are comfortable and clean.

Ty Gwyn more than met our expectations. The room was large and comfortable, very homey. Ty Gwyn was close to town and various walks, both long and short.

The service was excellent-

The food was also fantastic. We decided to eat there for dinner, and i think it was one of the better meals we have had since coming to the UK.

The breakfast (included in the price of the room) was also well-prepared--not too greasy. I am a vegetarian, and had several options available to me.

The room was close to the road, but we hardly noticed as we were so tired. We slept comfortably. We had reserved an ensuite room, and the facilites were more than adequate.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel1212Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

From the moment we entered the cosy reception, we were made to feel relaxed. We were shown to our room which was more than adequate; it was warm and very comfortable. The bar is a delight to be in. Breakfast is exactly what walkers need and an evening meal is an excellent choice of good food, extremely good portions, great variety imaginatively presented. To complete this memorable few days away, the staff at all times were courteous, knowledgeable, very good humoured and well worth a good tip!! We can't wait to book again and enjoy this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rockyramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

I can't agree with previous reviewers based on my 3 night stay at this hotel. The room was on the shabby side of "shabby chic" - we stayed in the suite with an incredibly old Jacuzzi/shower and a balcony that overlooked the kitchen bins. I don't want a character free motel style room but I would prefer better quality bathroom, bed etc.... However, my main problem was with the menu - breakfast was ghastly from the curdled milk, cheap and fatty sausages to the supermarket economy brand jam and cereals. I didn't like the dinner in the restaurant (we gave it two goes in case we just got unlucky) - the quality of produce was very average and their cooking and presentation not what I was expecting from the glowing reviews. Steaks were supposed to be a high point of the menu from a newspaper review I read before we went but my experience was a poor quality Sirloin in a pepper sauce that even with two attempts we could not get served rare or the rather odd fillet steak stack with its garlic sauce, salami and cheese - if that is your thing then maybe this restaurant would be better for you than it was for us.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GourmetRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

I booked a birthday surprise break away for my partner - I couldn't have chosen better we loved it.

The staff were warm and welcoming. Our room was really lovely and very clean. Other rooms not occupied were left open with the lights on for anyone to 'take a look'.

The bar and restaurant were spotless and so full of character. The Lamb Wellington is probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten - I would go back just to sample it again!
Local people were dining which just shows that it must have a very good reputation in the area.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Ty Gwyn Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CurlyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We have stayed in the Inn September 2007, we would like to go back most probably next year. The rooms are lovely, we stayed in room 10 and our 1st impression was, this is how it is suppossed to be. Really
lovely english style, very warm decorated. The restaurant is also very nice, and the food is so good we had dinner and breakfast at the
inn each day, we can say Martin is a really good master chef. The service is incredible and everyone is prepared to help you and tell you were to go for all nice places to see in the area. The village centre is also very nice and only a 5 min walk from the hotel. Snowdonia area is a real walking and hiking area and the inn is only 20-30 min from all the nices places to go. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the inn and go back home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Zaandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $118 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing