We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest after peak challenge”
Review of Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rest after peak challenge”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for one night after Doing 3 peak challenge. Check in was flawless quick and polite what you need after 36 hours on the move. the room was in a block at the rear very clean and comfortable. The leisure facility was spot on for the tired body. Restaurant food was ok service a bit poor There were a large number of groups eating so this may have had an effect on the service. Breakfast spot on. Would stay again and recommend .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlloyd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    252
    84
    24
    9
See reviews for
145
379
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Snowdonia tourist region. However I stayed on a nearby business trip. Rooms were fine in terms of size and cleanliness, I liked the bed very much. Breakfast was ok. Staff friendly. The street in front of the hotel is LOUD ... also at night. Mobile connections in Snowdonia are poor in general, but at the hotel expecially.

In general, the average UK hotel is only OK. So this was OK+.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EzPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is in a very nice location with clean modern decor, deluxe room spacious large 6 foot bed with table and chairs outside. Staff friendly. Pool/Spa excellent. Only complaint was the food breakfast was good but evening meal disappointing so we ate out at a local restarant around the corner which was great..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminigirlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Decent enough hotel rooms fine so hot though we had windows wide open location spot on pool was nice. But food got to be honest not great its more of a constructive criticism than a moan so hopefully they can improve on it. Overall pricey but yea does the job

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Lovely place with breath taking views form river to woodlands. Great friendly and helpful staff. A good range of facilities from pool, hot tub, sauna, steam room and gym with everything in it you need. Shame it closes at 7.30pm as most people would be dining at that time and would finish the night off with a little relaxation/swim. The evening food is excellent and the service is friendly and pretty fast. Breakfast is gorgeous from fruit juice to cereal, full cooked English breakfast, yogurts, porridge and prunes followed by toast and tea/coffee. The hotel décor is very good too. Very quiet hotel and location. The hotel is central to most attractions from 2 minute drive to half hour drive away so is perfectly situated for Go Karting, Europe's fastest Zip Wire at Zip World, all beaches, waterfalls, Snowdonia mountain walking, Tree Tops rope activities and swings, dry slope skiing, white water rafting, farm shops and castles. There is too much more to mention. I am visiting again in August 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had a fantastic few days in the beautiful Betws-Y-Coed. The hotel is great and the location is brilliant if you want somewhere quiet but not to far away from things to do. We had a fee drinks in the bar which was lovely and also tried the food in the restaurant which was also very nice but a little pricey, but nether the less the food was good.
Breakfast was a buffer style which is what we enjoy because we could just help ourselves to what we wanted.
Staff very friendly and always on hand to help if we needed it. Waitresses also very chatty and friendly. We didn't find anything wrong with this place, until it was time for us to leave.
As we entered the reception to check out we could see the housekeepers working in the bar area. As we finished checking out and after having a lovely chat with the receptionist we left to be greeted by a member housekeeping staff, who smilied, only seconds later a tall dark haired male housekeeper came over to the female housekeeper swearing like a trooper. "I'm f***ing bored" he said, to which the female housekeeper replied "don't swear in front of customers" and his reply was "don't give a s**t" then he walked off. We found this kind of language appalling and disgusting, and the fact the he didn't seem to care about the customers who pay his wages every month is very horrible. We could see that the female housekeeper was uncomfortable and a little embarrassed about the way he spoke but just carried on working.

Our time at the hotel was great, just a shame that man had no respect for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank julesjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Property: Waterloo Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing