We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better”
Review of Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Just gets better”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have written several reviews in the past on the Waterloo Hotel. We took some customers there on Saturday and stayed on their dinner bed and breakfast package, which is always fantastic and didn't disappoint. We have only ever stayed inside the hotel but this time we stayed in the outside lodges and what a surprise, lovely large rooms with seating area outside your patio doors, our room (no 54) overlooked the river which was beautiful. tea/coffee as expected, safe, ironing board and iron, hairdryer, sofa, swivel telly and ample storage space. The only down side is the British weather, so be prepared to take a brolly for the short walk to the hotel reception. The rooms outside are a lot quieter, as you get no 'corridor' noise, so would highly recommend. They have also now completed the reception area which is now a cosy well decorated entrance with a very professional looking reception area, the bar and restaurant have also been renovated and are all excellent quality. Our visitors were certainly impressed. Topped off with excellent food, fantastic staff, and superb location, we will keep going back for more.

Room Tip: Rooms in outside lodges are bigger and quieter, but take a brolly just in case. Dinner Bed and Brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    265
    88
    24
    9
See reviews for
160
387
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Bar excellent and food of a very high standard. Room layout and facalities very good and no disturbance. Location very good for touring North Wales. Good menu choice with good service with no delay.

Room Tip: Choose one of the chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamer49tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Many restaurants in Betws y Coed are failing in their appeal due to overpriced and poorly cooked food and poor customer service - not so this place. Eating here was recommended to us therefore fed up of being disappointed by other places we gave it a go.

From the outset our experience was extremely positive. The staff are friendly, the hotel areas are clean and well presented and the food was simply delightful. We paid just over £40 for drinks and two courses for 2 people and felt it was extremely good value for money. Portion sizes are very good so much so that we could not fit in dessert although looking at them coming out they looked super!

All in all we would highly recommend the Waterloo Hotel and shall definitely eat here again when we next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masarnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel recently, on arrival at reception we were given key to room no. 44. This room is like a self contained flat only thing missing is a kitchen, a separate lounge with settee and television and patio doors overlooking the grounds. Beds comfortable and rooms nice and warm and very clean everywhere. Breakfast is buffet style in the main hotel, plenty of variety of food, no complaints. Overall all staff helpful and pleasant and would recommend this hotel. Betas y coed is a lovely village/town for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked a Groupon offer to stay at the Best Western Waterloo Hotel in Betws-y-Coed as it seemed like a good deal. We were greated by a lovely and very friendly receptionist. The hotel lobby is clean and welcoming. We were given a 'Deluxe Room' (number 42) which was a very generous size. It had a lovely little patio with chairs - if we'd gone in summer I'm sure we would have enjoyed a cup of tea out there. It has a great TV that could rotate to be watched from the bed or from the two person sofa.

The location is great as it is only a short drive away from many great hiking/climbing locations. It is easy to spot as it is right off the A5 and you can easily walk to the little shopping precinct in Betws-y-Coed.

The restuarant was fairly priced and decent enough food. I wouldn't describe it as anything special but it was perfectly good and what you would expect for the prices. We used the pool facilities which were clean and very well looked after. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and as helpful as required. The cooked breakfast was a very high standard, much higher than I would normally expect - it was a buffet style service but all the food was fresh and cooked well. No dried out bacon or overcooked eggs here!

My only criticism would be the decor is a little dated and the bathroom in our room wasn't spotless. I also wasn't really a fan of the artwork in our room - from a distance it looked a bit creepy, it was only when I got up close I realised it was sketches of climbers (fitting)! The shower had a few discoloured areas on the grout and caulking. It was nothing disgusting by any means but you tend to be used to spotless showers in hotels. Please don't let this deter you though as it was a lovely experience, I just want to be honest in my reviews.

My only other note would be about the area in general - I always enjoy a nice cosy pub after a day of hiking/walking and there aren't really any in Betws-y-Coed - as they are mostly hotel restaurants. Which sometimes aren't very inviting if you aren't staying at said hotel. But you can certainly enjoy a well earned drink in the Best Western Waterloo Hotel's restaurant.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World42Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Major building works ongoing: lorries, trucks and builders and their associated noise from 08:30 until 4pm was unpleasent to say the least. Very very Overpriced and exceptionally dated and tatty. Very noisy- both noise from the busy road outside ( even at 3am) and other guests, slamming doors etc. Breakfast reasonable. Wifi frequently lost connection. Staff pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyramid164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had one night at this hotel. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. We were allocated Lodge 54 at the back of the hotel. First impressions, nice large room, bathroom ok, towels old and thin. However I wouldnt recommend this room as it is next to the heating/boiler room and the noise from the whole system was terrible. We went to bed about midnight and couldnt get to sleep because of the dreadful noise from the pipes banging and water running through the system. I tried to contact reception but no reply, so ended up having to get dressed and walk outside down to reception in the snow. There was nobody on reception but one of the guys from the bar came to the room next to Lodge 54 with me and turned the heating system off, so anyone in the lodges near us wouldnt have any heating that night, but at least the noise stopped. We finally got to sleep about 1am, only to be woken up at 6am by the heating system starting up all over again. It was not the nice relaxing break we had planned. We used the hotel spa facilities which were ok, but a little tired and in need of some upgrading. We had hoped to eat in the restaurant but due to a prebooked function we were told we wouldnt be able to. We went across the bridge to the TY Gwyn which was very nice. However when we returned to the hotel we had a drink in the bar and noticed that people were eating meals in the bar area. It would have been nice if we had been given that choice as well, especially on such a cold wintery evening.
Breakfast was excellent. Couldnt fault this, really good quality food and a nice choice. Would we stay here again, probably not,

Room Tip: Dont let them put you in Lodge 54!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.4 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
172 reviews
24.1 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Property: Waterloo Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing