We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe pair of hands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Safe pair of hands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You won't go far wrong staying here.
Comfy rooms, good breakfast, and good value for money.
The hotel also has the added bonus of a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi ideal for recuperation and recharging the batteries after a day in the mountains.
Only word of warning would be that this hotel caters for coach trips so breakfast can be a bit fraught as the participants all decend on the breakfast room at the same time in a hurry to fuel up and ship out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhewinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    211
    68
    22
    6
See reviews for
110
283
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived Dec 30th ,raining commenced shortly after arrival.We enjoyed a nice meal at lunchtime and another meal in the evening which was also very good. There was some work in progress in the entrance to the hotel,which was not a problem. The room were warm and roomy and quiet
although a little tired. We were there for a festive New Year break, very were satisfied with the friendly waiters etc and entertainment. The food was excellent +++++ never had better!

Room Tip: There are some chalets at the rear of the hotel which other guests said were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StockportPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel had recently been improved and was looking very modern, festive and well organised. Food was good and large servings but the bed was extremely uncomfortable and gave us a bad night's sleep. Staff added a further duvet to pad out the mattress, but it didn't really make much difference. Constant hot water for baths and room was big. More tea, sugar and bath products would have been welcome but on request were immediately provided. Bath towels were tiny and not fit for purpose. Price not bad. Gala dinner pretty good but cabaret a bit pathetic and many ran off to the bar when it started!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are dark with no view. Better at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went for a two day bed and breakfast break. It was fantastic, everybody was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was self service all you could eat. Room was quiet and warm. It did back onto the railway line but this was of little bother they only ran very rarely and not at all during the night. Spa was excellent, All round value for money. Well worth a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visited for the weekend and enjoyed a lovely experience from the minute we stepped foot through the door. Excellent service throughout our stay from every staff member, breakfast excellent choice and plentiful, Leisure club a nice relaxing experience. No complaints whatsoever. Went as part of KGB offer so outstanding value for money. Stayed in hotel and room was lovely. Cannot comment on chalet rooms but would ask for a room in hotel if you have a choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paterson124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we stayed as a large group for an outside activity course. Had a very old and homely feel, which made the rooms warm and cosy. The rooms were well equipped and had a nice bathroom. The restaurant food however was very poor, the fish was very very overcooked and the risotto tasted like rice pudding. Others also said they're food was of below average quality which is a shame as it has so much potential. Breakfast was ok, nothing special and no resh fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Decided it was too wet to walk so friends and I decided to walk along to the hotel to check out the spa facilities. We managed to book and the staff were very friendly. We all enjoyed our treatments which were very professionally done and great value for money. We enjoyed it so much we decided to come back that evening for dinner. Service was very good as was the food. I will definitely come and stay next time I'm in Betws y Coed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenoldie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Property: Waterloo Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing