We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great short break hotel with excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great short break hotel with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed in a room within the main hotel. Some rooms were motel style out in the carpark. Given the pouring rain I am glad we weren't out there. However for others being close to the car and easily accessible would have been a bonus. Used the hotel spa. Pool, Jacuzzi and steam room all a little on the cool side. However apart for the temperature they were good facilities. My husband used the well equiped gym. Best part though was the evening meal. It was excellent. We had payed for the dinner, bed and breakfast package and were very impressed. We could order anything off the menu and it was a lovely meal. Lots of choice and a good range of local welsh produce on the specials menu. The three course meal cost us £51. Wine started at around £18 per bottle. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: On a hot August night the rooms needed open windows. A little traffic noise on ours facing the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELMWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    245
    84
    24
    9
See reviews for
136
358
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a 2 night break here, never had much interaction with the staff except at breakfast which is served buffet style. The room was situated at the back of the property in the annexe rooms as we had our dog with us. The room was fine, not great, but there is the railway line which passes around 15 feet (honestly) from the window. The first train went past at 0600hrs and every hour after I presume, as we were usually out after 0900 and finished at 2000hrs. this was the only let down

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screwso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for a weekend break, so impressed we booked to stay an extra night.( 2 adults and teenage Son).The staff were friendly and helpful, very polite to my Son when he asked to borrow a laptop! We stayed in a lodge room, spacious, spotlessly clean, with patio doors onto a small patio . Large tv wall mounted so it could be enjoyed from either the large double bed or the sofa. Bathroom was newly fitted to a very high standard. Bed, as is usual in a hotel was rather firm so we found 2 single duvets in the wardrobe and used them as matress toppers. The walk to breakfast through the well tended garden was lovely.
Breakfast, we had a choice of where we would like to sit ( unusual in this type of hotel but much appreciated )we got a lovely window seat in the conservatory for both mornings during our stay.Breakfast had plenty of choice, the hotel used local produce most enjoyable. Nice to see that the hotel takes consideration for the environment seriously.
Leisure complex: pool, spa, sauna, gym enjoyed these facilities and because the hotel isn't too large they never got too busy.
Special mention goes to the fantastic spin dry in the pool area for drying off your bikini etc, all hotels should have one!
Changing facilities and shower ( even had lovely smelling shower gel provided) where excellent. Short 5 minute walk into the town centre.This hotel has a 3 star rating, compared to the supposidly 4 star b and b we stayed in the week prior to our stay at the Best Western there is no comparison. This hotel wins hands down
FABULOUS STAY , we will be back! Will recommend the hotel to all our friends

Room Tip: Room 45 is away from the road so bit more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had lunch here with my Aunt, who is in a wheelchair, my Mum, who has trouble walking, and my cousin. We sat in the bar, and access was no problem, with the tables a good height for my Aunt in her chair. Food was tasty, although on the pricey side. My Aunt voted the easy access loo as a 10/10 - she says that she doesn't award that very often.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hookedonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr blackpool
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Best Western if nothing else are consistent.Great 2 day stay,And what I like about this place is the food and staff are superb, really welcoming,friendly, and enjoy their job, but there is a draw back. The annexe room I stayed in (number 37) was very musty and damp. I was offered to be moved to another room, but as it was only for 2 nights I stayed there, really the annexe rooms are well passed there use by date, and either need a complete revamp or demolishing they must be nearly 40 years old. Apart from the room its a lovely hotel,

Room Tip: ask to stay in the hotel, not the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryholdenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

this was a lovely place rooms were clean and large bathroom was spotless and what a breakfast, there was so much to choose from and if that didnt suit you there was a menu too even more choice , this hotel was so close to the all amenities love to go back

Room Tip: we were in a lodge room and i no some of them havent been refurbished so check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Yes, we parked in the spacious car park of The Waterloo and saved £2 O.K. it is a little walk to the amenities but not that far. This is in a place where thay charge 20p for a p. Obviously we had a meal or else it would be taking the proverbial. And what a great meal is was I had a lovely pint of local ale from the hand pump, my wife a latte coffee then beef with red onion marmalade with a salad in ciabatta and the wife had bacon and cheese ciabatta with salad - lovely.Total cost £18.80p so we paid £16.40p taking off the car park and two ps! Will go again - to the hotel I mean. Having seen the hand cut chips I'm glad we didn't order a portion at £2.50 - they were enormous chunks of potatoes!Free parking for Betws-Y-Coed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandFattyarbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Property: Waterloo Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing