We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Hill Guest House
Ranked #29 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in October, having read such glowing reviews.

Park Hill Guest House was ideal for us. It was in an ideal location to explore the rest of Snowdonia, the breakfasts were hearty and tasty, the owner - Ghislaine - couldn't do enough for us and was very friendly and we enjoyed peace and quiet.

The pool was great to get in to at the end of the day, however it was a bit nippy! We didn't try out the sauna facilities. The bed and breakfast itself is very homely and comfy - there are bits, you could argue, that could do with modernising however I feel this would then start to take away the charm of the place. Ghislaine's collection of teddies are very endearing.

Though it's about a ten to fifteen-minute walk into the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the walk that Ghislaine recommended (and provided a torch for) is really pleasant (but muddy by the sheep fields!) - culminating in a plod across the footbridge over the river. Just a hop across the railway station and you're in the centre of the town, with an array of places to eat.

If any of my friends or family wanted to stay in Betws-y-Coed, I'd definitely recommend this place. It's excellent value and helps to make your stay in a beautiful part of the world that bit more memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theswirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The views are beautiful although you can hear noise from the busy road below. Rooms are dated and house full of clutter, Rooms are large but bathroom small had to squeeze in to sit on toilet! Owners are very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is good. Pool was cold. Has lots of potential.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Firstly, can we just say that Jaap and Ghislaine were a pleasure. Welcoming and helpful, they made our stay an absolute treat and we will be recommending Park Hill to all our friends.
Breakfast was of excellent quality. A plentiful menu and an impressive buffet with a wide selection of fruits and muselis. Great poached eggs and also really nice proper coffee. For us, as veritable connoisseurs of B&B cuisine, it was top notch.
Really great location and very clean and warm. We also loved going for a swim every day after long walks.
Overall one of the nicest places we've stayed in - thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked online for myself and wife after it was listed as gay friendly and was attracted by the pool as an extra. Arrived in the evening quite tied after being at work all day and could not help but smile as we were greeted enthusiastically by the gentleman owner. Other people have mentioned the bears being everywhere but we didn't find them at all creepy and they were just an added quirk. The room was lovely with old and characterful furniture and a comfy bed. The bathroom could have done with a bit of a spruce up/update but it was perfectly adequate. The pool was a great little free extra, we had it to ourselves in the evening along with the little sauna and it was lovely to have a little swim and relax.
The B&B is in a great location with a lovely 5 min walk to centre, down a path and over a great bridge, the torch is definitely needed if you plan to come back in the dark.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate and with cereal, fruit and yoghurt also available, it kept us going until after lunch.
On the day of our departure we didn't want to disturb to owners who we chatting to guests in the breakfast room so we returned our key and snuck out but the lady owner came outside as we we're leaving to make a point of saying goodbye which was lovely.
All in all, lovely place and we would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Enjoyed a 2-night stay in Park Hill. The location is good, not right in the middle of the village, but
a 10-minute stroll by fields and sheeps gets you there. They have an indoor swimming pool there, although we haven't used it, but it looked clean. Breakfast is what you can expect for a B&B in UK: full breakfast, jams, preserves, three choices of juice. I reckon that what I've tried were good quality! Room was fine, good quality bed and a superb shower. It had a double glazed window, so we could not hear noises coming from the road nearby.
No issues related to cleanliness.
We booked with one week before the bank holiday, actually because our first and second choices were fully booked. On average they were 20% more expensive compared to other B&Bs in Betws-y-Coed.
The owners were very approachable and explained to us everything we needed.
Good stay overall! Would come back, depending on the price rate on the occasion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camm_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maenaddwyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here at the end of july after searching for hotels and having stayed at many different hotels in the area, we found this hotel to be everything that we needed for a relaxing stay in the countryside, the room was very clean and had the most amazing view of betws y coed and the mountain range, I particuly enjoyed being able to go for a swim whenever we wanted as the key was available at any time for the pool and sauna, we will be definatly be booking again very soon and cant wait for another relaxing stay at the park hill hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesarkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here mid-July with my boyfriend. Beautiful location, view from our front-facing room of hills, tress and endless green! Great hospitality from Mr & Mrs Buis (and the cat!) from the moment we walked through the door, wonderful people! Gave us directions into the village,was a lovely walk through a farm and across a river, and recommended places to eat.Our room was great, spotlessly clean, big, comfy bed. Had a lovely bath after our walk. 24hour use of the pool and sauna, which we enjoyed to ourselves at 11pm. Fantastic! Breakfast was lovely in the morning, plenty of food plus breakfast bar offering cerals, fruit, juices, jams etc. Would love to go back, and definitely highly recommended!

Could not fault anything, wonderful people, great facilities, beautiful location. We had a fantastic weekend break :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennaMD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glyntwrog House
Glyntwrog House
#16 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Garth Dderwen Guest House
#28 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hill Guest House

Property: The Park Hill Guest House
Address: Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales (Formerly Park Hill Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is YOUR castle. We like to offer the service we like to receive ourselves. 8 rooms all en-suite and with an indoor heated swimming pool (4 * 11 m, 1m40 deep) + sauna/jacuzzi free and exclusively for our guests, open 24h/day. Free WiFi. Housed in victorian 1869 built private house with some pittoresque features. Breath taking views on Snowdon foothills. Renowned for its informal, friendly service and its teddybear and music collections. Secluded carpark. Safe storage of mountain bikes. Ideally situated. Golf course, train station and village within 6 minutes walking distance. Free shuttle from train station. Snowdon and seaside 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hill Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing