We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts”

Cyrau View Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyrau View Guest House
Ranked #44 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly hosts who gave us good advice on what to visit during our stay. Breakfast was excellent and perfect location for public transport. Bedroom was very spacious and very clean. We were very happy with our stay

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultturner, Owner at Cyrau View Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you Elizabeth, we are very pleased you both enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back again and tackle some more mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent location, very friendly and welcoming hosts who can't do enough for you. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Cyrau view is suitable for all types of guests, whether you are on a walking holiday, looking for a family get-away or just to relax. The breakfasts are excellent and prepare you well for a days walking. Nice quiet location so you get a good nights rest. Shops, bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. Cyrau view is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultturner, Owner at Cyrau View Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The cottage is the perfect place to stay for a holiday in Snowdonia. Excellent location for walks and rides directly from Betws-y-Coed and close to all the shops and local cafes and restaurants, or just a short drive from Snowdon. We loved the cosy, warm cottage with all the self-catering aspects. Claire and Paul are fantastic hosts with lots of local knowledge - especially for the outdoors. We look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oskie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultturner, Owner at Cyrau View Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay and we are pleased you enjoyed the cottage. We hope you can come back again to enjoy more mountain biking and walking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August of this year (2012). This is a joint review of the B & B and the cottage that is directly behind it as we stayed for one week in each.

Firstly the B & B:
On first impressions, it seemed a little odd as you are literally sharing the house with the owner. Of course, this isn't uncommon for B & B's but it initially felt too close for comfort. Having said that, it was something that we got used to throughout the week. The rooms were functional but very small. Luckily we were in a room that had a toilet attached, a couple of rooms had to share one toilet.

Half way through the week we came back to the house to get something from the room and found that our key was left in the door. It had obviously been cleaned but the key had been left, essentially leaving all of our valuables accessible to anyone in the house.

The food was good.


The Cottage:

The first and probably most important thing that I would like to mention is that we were only able to stay 3 nights out of the week we had planned in the cottage. This was because on the 3rd night we stayed up until around midnight watching T.V and after turning it off we heard the rats running around. Yes, RATS. We could hear them in the walls, the roof, and it literally felt as though they were in the room itself. After searching the room we couldn't find any, but the noise of the scurrying, and SQUEAKING that they made between them kept both my partner and I awake all night for fear of being bitten in our sleep!

We noticed a 'rodent repellant' plug in under the bed but it wasn't plugged in. This was the first sign that the owners knew of the problem.

The next morning I spoke to the owner's mother who firstly denied knowing about the problem, then proceeded to ask if it was rats or mice (of course, I couldn't be sure but one thing I was sure of was that I wasn't keen on sharing a house with either!) and then told me that she was sure they must be mice as they don't get rats around here...

After a long negotiation, and the excuse that they don't normally have to turn on the repellant until late september when the rats/mice come in because it gets cold, we got the money back for the nights that we weren't staying in the cottage but there was little in the way of compensation for the whole situation and as we said goodbye, the mother told us to 'enjoy the rest of out holiday'!

Apart from the additional unexpected occupants, the cottage was average. I would say 'you get what you pay for' but we payed for a week there and couldn't stay more than 3 nights.

Small points:

The shower/toilet leaks leaving the bathroom permanently damp
There were no oven gloves so very difficult to serve food.
The fridge is very loud and being an open plan cottage, you can hear this very well while you are trying to sleep.

Would I stay here again? No.
Would I recommend it to anyone? No.

I would advise that the owner did say that she would try to resolve the problems but there was no way of keeping the rats out.

Wales was a lovely place to visit but I wouldn't recommend Cyrau View.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpiemags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultturner, Owner at Cyrau View Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
While appreciating that this is a highly subjective individual view, this post seems a bit vitriolic and mean, so we would like to respond.

The House:

This is a traditional B&B and (in common with most other B&Bs) we do live in the house. We have separate owner’s accommodation, with essentially half the house being ours and half guest accommodation. We don’t normally see a lot of our guests, but we do make an effort to chat with guests and try to help out with their planned activities, local attractions or local activity ideas.

In terms of rooms, this is a traditional 200 year old stone Guest House…it is not a Hotel. Rooms are as described on our website (http://www.betws-y-coed-accommodation.co.uk/) and the pricing reflects the rooms on offer. There is in fact a toilet and a large family bathroom (with toilet) shared between two rooms. We believe our prices are fair and we offer some of the most affordable accommodation in the Village. Larger rooms or room suites (with sitting rooms etc) cost significantly more in the Village. We have slightly traded off some room space for bed size, as previous guest feedback has rated a good sized bed as highly desirable. As a result of this we furnished our rooms with large comfortable beds when refurbishing in 2012.

In terms of the ‘key’ comment, these were the only guests staying with us during this week. When there are other guests in the house we do not leave keys in doors while we carry out our daily cleaning.

The Cottage:

Hundreds of people have stayed in the Cottage and most of our customers are repeat customers who come back year after year.

We have never had complaints about mice or rats before, but despite this we paid for a pest control visit...there are no rats or mice in the Cottage and no evidence of them having been there. There is a sonic deterrent in the Cottage (Betws-y-Coed is in the heart of the Gwyder Forest) to deter wildlife from approaching or getting in to any external cavities of the Cottage. This works best if not unplugged by guests.

In terms of ‘compensation’ referred to above, the money we retained was less than the cost of 3 nights in the Cottage and had also given this guest a discounted rate for the B&B; as they booked for two weeks.

Small Points:
- This guest broke the toilet. Not a big issue, but we do not go into the Cottage when guests are staying there, so we have to be told about any issues for us to fix them. Toilet fixed and this solved the damp toilet floor.
- There are oven gloves. Not sure how this guest managed to miss them, but happy to show you things if you have difficulty finding anything and happy to have feedback about what guests would like the Cottage kitted out with.
- Only one other guest has commented about the fridge, although he said it was not a problem in any way. Quieter fridge being installed in the Cottage.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and we hope you will visit so we can show you that this adverse review of our Guest House is unjustified. As I said above we have hundreds of other satisfied customers and our guest book reflects this. We have not actively sought to encourage people to comment on our Guest House on TripAdvisor, but will now try to get more of our guests to use it, so balance this one person’s negative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and I have to say that it has been a great experience every time. Nothing is too much trouble and Claire is very friendly and helpful. This is the only place we would choose to stay in Betws-Y-Coed and I can not recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultturner, Owner at Cyrau View Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you Brian, look forward to seeing you and your son again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

- Location-This is situated right in the middle of Gwydyr Forest park and located on the A5, easy to find. As it is within walking distance of the betws-y-coed railway station and with a bus stop in 2 mins walking distance, it is very good for the public transport users.
- Rooms- we stayed in a family room with private bathroom, other rooms being on-suite. Room was clean and spacious with road-facing window, and no road-noise was felt due to double glazed windows.
- Breakfast- This is the part I liked as I do not like to waste food and do not like others doing it. We were asked to fill a small form which had all the probable options for the breakfast which we had to fill and hand-over the night before. A delicious breakfast was served according to the preferences.
- Friendly Hosts - Claire and Paul were very helpful and were able to provide a lot of information/recommendation on the places we could visit in the time we had available as they themselves are having a good first-hand knowledge of the area, including trekking routes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultturner, Owner at Cyrau View Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you Val & Stan, we look forward to seeing you both and your lovely grandson again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
#1 of 2 in Capel Garmon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Glyntwrog House
Glyntwrog House
#15 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrau View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrau View Guest House

Property: Cyrau View Guest House
Address: Cyrau View Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cyrau View Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing