We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Ranked #25 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
middlesbrough
2 reviews
“Excellent and Friendly Service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you are thinking of going to the Snowdonia Region of Wales and you need a central location try Betws-y-Coed and stay in the lovely B&B Garth Dderwen. The hosts are so caring and warm, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They have all the facilities for walkers and bikers, a drying room with your gear dry and ready for you at breakfast the next morning and locked bike storage. The bedroom are extremely clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast filled you up for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
30
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights last week whilst on a mountain bike trip. The rooms were lovely,clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a hearty affair ( just what we needed for fuel) Frances and her husband (didn't get his name) gave us great info re restaurants etc. All in all a perfect trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank challenger317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay here in January and was made to feel most welcome. The house is very cosy and rooms are very comfortable. Location is perfect - just off the main street. Would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToniD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Garth Dderwen is a beautiful Victorian house. The room was incredible value for money yet cosy and welcoming with good facilities; the food was excellent. Fran and Eifion offered to dry our boots and shoes after an epic day walking on nearby Moel Siabod; they were friendly and informative whilst also respecting our privacy. Eifion is from nearby Blaenau, and is a font of information about the history of the community and area. We enjoyed their company; they were far too polite to let us know whether we were boring them! If you want a genuinely Welsh welcome in a B&B that is uniquely Betws-y-Coed, this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth Dderwen G, Owner at Garth Dderwen Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed with Fran and Eifion many times over the last 3 years. It is one of the few places which offer a single room if your budget doesn't stretch to the luxury of a double for single occupation.
The breakfast is out of this world and truly, you don't need to eat anything else all day! There is plenty on your tea/coffee tray in your room, inclusive some delicious bikkies.
There are plenty of books and maps to look at and borough, but with free Wifi you can do your own research on the Intranet.
The B&B is very central, you can easily walk anywhere and catch the train or bus easily.
If you would like a qualified Mountainleader's tuition, Martin, their brother in law , is your man and at hand too.
What more do you need?

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth Dderwen G, Owner at Garth Dderwen Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
What a lovely review,! All we can say is its always lovely to see to you here .Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

At last a B and B with real people and a relaxed atmosphere
what a lovely welcome...invited into guest lounge, the fire was lit and we were offered a tea and scone and a glass of sherry if we wanted! and that set the tone for the weekend, Fran and Eifion were warn, welcoming, available for a chat and a laugh but without imposing upon us.
Our room was lovely and the ensuite clean and bright. The linen was bright, crisp and clean
The food, we couldn't fault and there was plenty of it.
We loved the warmth and humour of our hosts Fran and Eifion but were sad to miss the concert that Eifion's male voice choir were giving....think we chose the wrong weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've just been at this B&B for two days, but i wish we've could stay longer. We were welcomed with some coffee and some welsh cakes. The rooms are tidy, and a bit old fashioned, but that makes it very cosy. Breakfast was lovely and hostess friendly. Had a perfect stay! Again, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarrinVelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
The Courthouse (Henllys)
The Courthouse (Henllys)
#18 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aberconwy House
Aberconwy House
#11 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mary's Court Guest House
Mary's Court Guest House
#19 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Dderwen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Dderwen Guest House

Property: Garth Dderwen Guest House
Address: Vicarage Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Dderwen Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garth Dderwen guesthouse is located in a quiet off road position in the village of Betws y Coed, close to main railway station, restaurants ,shops, mountain bike hire ,mountain bike routes ,forest walks, river walks,lake walks, golf course, bus routes to Snowdon and other areas. Six bedrooms with en suite single ,twin, double bedrooms, free Wi- fi, TV in all rooms, guest lounge, maps and guide books, local knowledge for information, Full breakfast, cycle storage ,cycle wash area, drying facilities, Car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Garth Dderwen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Dderwen Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing