We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb!”
other travelers have booked this property
Our house in the garden overlooking Snowdonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our house in the garden overlooking Snowdonia
The Snowdon Range from Capel Curig Our house, front approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Our house in the garden overlooking Snowdonia
The Snowdon Range from Capel Curig
Our house, front approach
The Garden House - terrace view
The Garden House - double door entrance, covered area on the sunny side.
The Garden House - kitchen entrance
The Lounge - garden and mountains view
The Dining Room - gardens view
The Twin Bedroom - garden view
9. Picture window - from the Lounge
The Lounge
The en-suite bathroom
Lounge easily converts to bedroom in 10 secs
Shower room - difficult to photograph!
Part of the Kitchen
11. Lilies
12. Irises
13. Garden steps
14. Magnolia beside the pond
15. Cherry
16. Azaleas
17. More garden steps
18. Fuschia
19. Garden - arched entrance
20. The top garden
21. Rose
23. Summer residence
25. The Willow
26. Rhodo bush
27. The front lawn - mountain view
35. Climbing in  Snowdonia
Monty and Pamela Martin - The Ascent of Snowdon
Nick Martin at the Standing Stone, Miners' / PyG Track, Snowdon
Daniel Martin - Navigator, Snowdon
31. Betws-y-Coed - Pont-y-Pair (Bridge of the Cauldron)
34. Caernarfon Castle
32. Blubell Wood
37. Conwy harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Superb! ”
Reviewed 6 days ago for a stay in July 2018
NEW

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend celebrating my dads 60th birthday. Couldn’t ask for nicer hosts than Wendy and Geoffrey, nothing was too much trouble! Geoff pointed out several jogging routes for my brother which was great. We walked into Betws-y-coed a couple of times and Wendy even picked us up after a rather large meal for dads birthday meant we couldn’t face the hill and there were no taxis on a Sunday!! We really appreciated it! :)
Accommodation is spotless and worked perfectly for four adults and the gardens (even in the extreme heat!!) and views are spectacular!
The location is great for exploring
Snowdonia and north Wales and not too far at all to the zip-world quarry zip line for dads birthday present!
We all had such a great weekend so thank you to Wendy and Geoffrey for making us feel so relaxed, we hope to return soon xx :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had such a lovely time at the Country Garden House. Geoffrey and Wendy are lovely hosts. They are genuinely kind and helpful people. The house is so wonderful. It is spotlessly clean and provides everything you could wish for in a holiday home - as good as my own home! You don't have to worry about taking cleaning products or cloths as they are all there. There is soap, shower gel, tissues, toilet rolls and beautiful white fluffy towels. The gardens are fantastic. We will certainly return as it is just perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2018
Dear Ann, Brian, Jack and Jess,
Thank you for a very nice Review. I hope we can continue living up to it!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to meeting you again sometime.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Perfect Hosts.”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most fantastic weekend. What a beautiful property and garden. the location was just perfect. Wendy and Geoff were lovely and were very helpful. We had long days out exploring, and it was always lovely to come back to this stunning property and garden, and relax. We would just like to thank Wendy and Geoff for our tea and biscuits on arrival ( eventually Ha! Ha! ) They have so much knowledge and information about the surrounding areas, very helpful. Thankyou both for making our holiday so enjoyable, until we meet again. Christine, Robert,Margaret, and John. xxxx.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2018
Dear Christine, Robert, Margaret and John,

Thank you for your nice Review – and thank you also for leaving the house so clean and tidy. That helps us a lot as we are not as fit as we used to be.

Well, we shall certainly remember you, making such a Grand Entrance. Our first guests to arrive through the back garden, having driven all around the new hillside garden in an ordinary car! Who needs a Land-Rover when you can get around like that?

We are happy that you enjoyed your short stay here and look forward to meeting you all again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

Geoffrey and Wendy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanthaw...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Perfect location. Beautiful. Everything was spotless. We couldn’t ask for anything else. This holiday home was absolutely perfect for our Easter family holiday. The beautiful rural setting allowed us to completely relax each evening after a day of adventurous sightseeing. The village is close by and The bakers had yummy picnic food. The owners Geoffrey and Wendy were on hand for any questions we may have, such a lovely couple, frendly and incredibly helpful. We all enjoyed our evening of coffee and chats with them very much. My boys 8 and 10 loved the garden and staying in this comfortable home. We had a wonderful time climbing snowdon, exploring mines and caves. We had some lovely lake walks and we visted the beaches. i would highly recomend staying here. My boys think Geoffrey is actually Santa in his holiday home. Ho ho ho I can’t wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Dear Samantha, Chris, Ethan and Adam,

Thank you so much for your lovely Review – I hope we can live up to it.

We very much enjoyed having you here to stay. Such a happy family!

We also enjoyed seeing your adventures on the big TV screen. What fun!

Although I am not actually Santa in our holiday home, it really is so nice here that we often remark that it’s like being on a permanent holiday.
Which it is, really.

Thank you again, and we look forward to meeting you all again sometime. I will keep my beard especially long to please the boys.

Geoffrey and Wendy
19.04.2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly O
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This location is amasing, situated on top of the hill you get the most incredible views, it is totally idyllic. The garden is beautiful and has many birds visiting the bird feeders. It is a short drive into Bets y coed (5 min max) ... and walkable if you fancied it, which we did. You can watch the sunset over the mountains from the lounge which is stunning.

Geoff and Wendy have collated an abundance of information for walks and local activities, you name it, they have information on it. We went walking on a route provided by Geoff directly from our front door! The map navigation was excellent and the scenery exquisite! Would highly recommend this trail.

The garden house itself is perfect in every way. It's even more lovely in real life compared to the pictures, the pictures don't capture the ambiance. It is very spacious, with plenty of space for all your 'gear'. The kitchen is superbly kitted out, it has absolutely everything that you could ask for, there is underfloor heating in the kitchen and feels like you are almost in a french chalet in the alps. Superb place to hang out over dinner.

After a long days outing followed by a good meal and relaxation, the beds were VERY inviting, very comfortable and we got a good nights rest, waking up refreshed!

We were fortunate enough to experience snow during our stay which gave the surroundings a completely different feel, it was absolutely stunning! Small problem was that we drive a Mercedes which is not great in the snow!! BUT thanks to Geoff, we were towed out of the drive and very kindly navigated down the hill! Thanks Geoff!

Geoff and Wendy were incredibly hospitable, they brought us tea and biscuits on arrival and ensured that we had everything that we needed, including giving us suggestions of local walks and explaining exactly where to go and how to get there.

Geoff went out of his way and made our stay extra special. Due to the snow he drove us into town to get a few groceries from the shops, followed by a drive to watch the sunset over Snowdonia! He stopped at every opportunity for us to take in the views and take photos. Was very special.

We will definitely be going back to enjoy this treasure of a find and cannot wait for our next trip. We highly recommend this gem of a find and the people who own it. Enjoy!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Dear Michelle and Nigel,
Sorry about the delay in responding to your review; we don’t get notifications anymore, so I missed it.

Thank you for posting such a nice Review – although I don’t think we deserve all the accolades!

Yes, it’s quite “interesting” here when it snows. We are spoiled by having a LandRover for such occasions, making the situation more fun for everyone, and we are happy to drive guests about when it snows. (The main roads are cleared very quickly but due to our rural location, we use the 4x4 up and down the short hill). Fortunately, the new, huge radiator in the kitchen-dining room copes easily with minus 10 degrees centigrade!

It was very nice that you appreciated the gardens being lovely – even at that time of year. This month is daffodil and primrose time; the new hillside garden is bedecked with thousands of flowers. It’s a beautiful time of the year in Wales

And yes, the walk-from-the-front-door taking you up over the hill to Conwy Falls and the Fairy Glen is a really good one, offering terrific views of Snowdonia. Don’t forget though, next time, we do like to pick you up from down in the valley to save you the stiff walk back up our hill.

Thank you again for your Review; we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey and Wendy
09.04.2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amberfern...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely magical!”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

One of the most scenic and beautiful places I have ever stayed.
Very kind and helpful owners, really welcoming. The gardens are stunning and there are many fantastic walks around the local area.
I enjoy it as a peaceful isolated retreat but there are towns just a short drive away should you need anything.
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2018
Dear Gaynor,
What a good start to the year 2018! Thank you very much for your kind review. Winter isn’t the perfect time to have guests so we are very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay here. This week we have snow, so North Wales is particularly beautiful and the mountains are well worth visiting.
We look forward to meeting you again sometime.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey and Wendy
27 February
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Diann...
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful secret paradise”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Everything anyone would want, spotless clean. Comfortable beds and pillows just
what’s needed. The views from the bungalow are breathtaking. Such a shame we
never found Country Garden 20 years ago with such lovely hosts Wendy & Geoff
who would do anything to help and advise best places to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2018
Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am sorry that I did not respond earlier but, as you probably know, we had rather a lot on our minds this year. We look forward to meeting you again sometime and will do our best to arrange fine weather!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing