We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our sixth weekend stay at this awesome hotel / bunk house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our sixth weekend stay at this awesome hotel / bunk house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Yet another wonderful weekend stay at the Glan Aber. It caters for everything. This is my sixth organised weekend basing ourselves at this hotel. We started in the bunk house years ago which was very cheap with groups ranging from 12 to 22 persons and was excellent value for money (It's a bunk house and this should speak for itself, not a five star hotel) but more recently have moved to the hotel for a bit of luxery and creature comforts.
The staff at this hotel are really friendly and create a atmosphere which allows you to approach them regarding any problem you may encounter not that this was the case recently and they are always happy to help. I have seen the hotel improve every year with a new games room and bar area which was very well received by my group especially the use of the XBox connect (Great fun!).
Kerry the chef is my groups favourite as nothing is too much trouble and her food was awesome.
I have already booked for next years trip and look forward to seeing everyone at the Glan Aber that help make these great weekends away from London.
A massive thank you to the Glan Aber team!

Room Tip: When you book just ask Alison the manager what you want and she is always extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boywonder999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    141
    87
    57
    33
See reviews for
60
233
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We did not stay here but we had dinner here one night.
I had a chicken burger - the texture and taste of the meat was impossible to tell about from the bun, no sauce and a scraggy bit of lettuce. My partner has the chicken caesar salad, if it could be called that as it was missing most of the ingredients of a caesar salad - it was chicken, bacon and lettuce. No dressing, parmesan, croutons, egg etc and was generally very poor and at just under 10 pounds each we expected a lot better. We past a hotel down the road on the way back to the car, which was cheaper and the food looked much better (The Royal Oak I think it was called) and we wished we had gone there instead! The dining room looked like it had had a lot of money spent on it and we had assumed they could also afford a decent chef...apparently not! The table next to us had steak and ale pies which looked like they had been microwaved and they all sent them back to the kitchen as the "delicious homemade chips" the menu posted were still frozen!
Needless to say we didn't stay for dessert.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowden91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Went back as we said we would in our first review, we were not disappointed, we had room 2 which was quite spacious with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was as always good and plentiful with a good choice, we ate in most nights and again there was a good choice and with a nice pint too wash it down i was a happy man.
Do always ring and ask if there are any deals , I have stayed here many times and and will return again if its only to enjoy the smiles and friendliness's of all the staff....

Room Tip: best at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This bunkhouse is proper budget accommodation with an OK breakfast in the hotel. Rooms are small, grotty, smell funny and look tired, the walls are paper thin. Definitely don't think that one toilet in each of the men's and women's bathrooms is enough. Bring ear plugs, an eye patch (no blinds on the window) and slippers (a must for the shared bathroom). On the upside, location is good - You are paying for this central location right in the centre of Betws-y-coed town. However if you have a car then I would suggest you travel a short distance elsewhere to get a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madpowdizzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Had a lovely three night stay at this hotel in March 2012.

Our room was of an excellent standard for a 3 star hotel with a nice comfortable bed, plenty of space and a modern bathroom with a good shower (needed after walking up Mount Snowdon!)

The breakfast was fine, certainly nothing wrong with it. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but had a drink in the bar which was nice enough and the barman was friendly and chatty.

Only criticism would be that we found some of the staff a bit blunt, verging on rude at times. We felt a bit under pressure at breakfast to hurry up and get out of the way and I sensed the other guests felt that also. The lady serving breakfast although nice enough appeared a bit moody not making a great ambiance. We also witnessed a few other guests being spoken to in quite a blunt manner.

Apart from that I would certainly recommend this hotel. It was very good value and a good base for walks. The village itself is very pretty and there are a pretty good selection of places to eat and pubs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia19812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

just returned from a 2 night stay with my husband, we were the only people in the hotel! fantastic room, clean and very spacious, faultless breakfast both mornings with a very attentive waitress, lovely lady.
ate in both evenings (part of the booked package), food was great.
all staff were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: room 4 was great, overlooked the road but heard nothing both nights!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Went with my husband this past weekend. Can't fault the hotel - but the weather - well what do you do?

Food was good - we ate in both nights - staff were friendly, room was great. Will return again - but will check the weather report first!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Property: Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run three-star hotel, cafe, bar and bunkhouse in Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. Selected dog-friendly rooms available. All rooms en-suit with tea and coffee making facilities. Food served till late seven days a week. Drying room and mountain bike lock-up available. Walkers, bikers, climbers welcome, suitable for activity holidays. Welsh speaking staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing