We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chocolate Box Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicholas...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint Cottage”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a beautiful located cottage away from the beaten track, also it is perfectly located to visit North Wales. However, when I go on holiday I like anonymity, one of the reasons for booking self catering cottages. We were a little late due to a trip to minor injuries, however the owners were still at the cottage at 5 O'clock getting it ready for our arrival. Although the scones were a lovely touch, I didn't think we needed to have a tour of the cottage and explanations on how their electrical equipment worked, I find investigating the cottage part of the holiday and rather fun. Not having a key box is ludicrous, there should be one! With a sigh we sat down and tried to drink in the ambience of the cottage - were here at last, but we were not alone for long as the owner felt it necessary to come back into the cottage to explain how the shower worked, REALLY! On her departure I made sure the door was locked .It would be a good idea for an information booklet to be made with all the pertinent information in it, as this is our experience with other cottages we have stayed in, which have been many. I agree with previous holiday makers about the very dated kitchenware and bathroom (I never thought I would see an avocado bathroom suite this side of the eighties) I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of the cottage. I had to wash pots as there was still food stuck on some of the plates, and the painted wood work was very dirty, there was damp coming through more each day in one of the bedrooms, however to top it all I was disgusted to find blood on the toilet seat. We left early as the noise from the water in any format made dreadful noises waking up other visitors who stayed with us and the shower as such we had to queue to use it. I am sure a separate shower room could be made as well as the bathroom, as the cottage boasts it is for 6 guests.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
366daniel...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chocolate Box Cottage”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

No picture can discribe the wonderful feel of this beautiful cottage!
Set in gorgeous woodland and with two waterfalls in the back garden..
Everything in perfect working order en well stocked kitchen.
We had e great time walking en plenty activies nearby.
Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique cosy cottage”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having read previous reviews and looked at the pictures we were fairly confident that it was going to be good accomodation however no words can really describe the cosiness, homeliness, uniqueness and quirkiness of this 400 year old abode. This is like going back in time but with the essentials you need plus some luxuries eg the dishwasher. There was no signal and couldn't connect to WiFi but hey, we wanted to get away from it all so no complaints there. Inside it was a delight to explore the place, the two spiral staircases, the extra sitting room, the secret garden all just lovely. Kathy and Adrian are lovely owners who have provided everything you need for a comfortable stay. The cream tea set out on arrival was an extra treat after a 4 hour journey. We fell in love with this place as most visitors do and our only disappointment was that it's booked up for the whole of the summer so our 2nd visit will have to wait!

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We arrived to a friendly welcome and an enchanting cottage , there is a charming garden to relax in . Off road parking , log fire and all mod cons . The owners think of just about everything to make your stay perfect . All you have to do is choose from all the wonderful places and things to do too make a holiday to remember . We will be coming back asap .

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Cottage was fantastic as is the scenery
Liked least: Faint smell of damp , but old properties like this will suffer from this .
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine O
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in July 2015, 4 adults and an 8 year old. First impressions were stunning, the cottage definately has the wow factor from the outside. Set in a lovely location which some people may find a little isolated. Plenty of parking in gated driveway.
For us inside was very dark (obviously to be expected with its age/ thickness of walls etc) we found we needed the light on all the time.
The bathroom definately needed a revamp and the shower curtain would be better replaced with a screen. We found the far end of the building to smell very damp and felt cold, with us having to put the heating on in the summer. The little twin room had the strongest smell of damp and some mould on the back of the curtains. Should also be pointed out if your mobility is slightly impaired you could struggle with the spirally staircase with rope style banister and also the concrete steps linking lounge and kitchen.
The cottage was clean and the owners welcome lovely (they left us scones, fresh cream and jam) which was a lovely touch. I'm sure as previous reviews state this is a good cottage just wasn't for us. My in-laws went home 3 days into our stay and we left 2 days early as we just couldn't relax here (either bats or mice in the loft).

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJXJ
Milford, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gem in the Forest”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We thought our last cottage choice in the Gwydir Forest was unbeatable, and were naturally disappointed when it was not available for this trip. Were very fortunate in finding Nant Cottage which has now taken over the top spot of any cottage we have had in Wales, not just the North! Others have described its charms and characteristics very well and we can only echo their sentiments. In particular, we were extremely impressed with the skill and attention that the owners - Kathy and Adrian - have put into the renovation and maintenance of this property - words and pictures barely convey the excellence of the structure and its appealing gardens. Given it's location just outside Llanrwst, it is a perfect base to experience the wonders of Snowdonia and much of North Wales. Sometimes we almost felt guilty leaving in the morning to explore - we don't like to just sit around, but it would be very satisfying at this cottage - in the garden, just listening to the waterfall and stream. Highly, highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The physical structure and location and friendliness of owners
Liked least: No wireless signal (need to walk a couple of hundred yards)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaMs Y
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected beauty!”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this trip to celebrate parents Birthday and thought it'd be a nice weekend break for our family of 5. We stayed there for 3 Days & 2 Nights.

The Cottage was easy enough to find during the day (at night it is literally pitch black so the cottage would be easily missed). We left a voice mail for the owners as to what time we'd be arriving as per their instructions. When we got there we were met by a lovely couple, who were welcoming and showed us around the house and told us a little about what there is around the area and what to avoid etc.

We settled in nicely. The house looked amazing inside and out. The whole house is as cosy as it gets. We also used the fireplace which warmed up the house nicely. Rooms were of good size...the only strange thing was is that the twin room that me and my sister stayed in was colder than anywhere else in the house, but the extra blankets provided helped with that!

The kitchen came with everything you need. The lovely lady even made some scones to welcome their guests, which was delicious! They even provided milk and butter. There is also WIFI but it isn't as strong upstairs as it is down stairs and there is also no phone signal inside or outside the house, although there is a payphone in the house if needed.

It takes around 20 minutes to get to snowdon and around half an hour to go to caernarfon, this cottage is also next to a trail walk, so if you have dogs or like to have morning runs, cycling or hikes even then this is perfect!

Overall we all enjoyed this amazing cottage holiday and would stay here again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and the views.
Liked least: No phone signal and weak wifi connection
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2015
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nant Cottage! We are so pleased that you found the cottage cosy and enjoyed both the scones and your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing