We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has the wow factor!”

Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our restaurant overlooks the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in the Snowdonia National Park, and is open to non-residents for: •Bistro Lunch •Afternoon Teas •Evening Restaurant .Every year since 2006 we have received the coveted AA Rosette award for culinary excellence in addition to the Taste of Wales recognition. Wales offers such an abundance of quality produce we constantly strive to source all of our ingredients locally and insist on daily deliveries to ensure the freshness of each dish we prepare.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place has the wow factor!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I ate with three friends and we were wowed! The riverside restaurant has it all, unbeatable food, impressive wine list, great service and a view to die for. Having eaten in most of Betws y Coeds restaurants this is definitely the best, cannot fault the place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LB19882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food most disappointing”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My Wife and I visited the hotel for dinner on the 8th August 2013.without a booking.
The staff were excellent, however the description of the food available in the menu was misleading, suggesting that all the ingredients were of a local nature. From the two options of the Dining Room and the Bistro, the menu led us to the Bistro, where we were the only two people in. I should say that the Restaurant had just opened, BUT Betwys y Coed was heaving with visitors.
My choice was the Colwyn Plaice and chips....the chips were frozen, very dry with little taste! maybe they were "local".....maybe not!! but the Colwyn Plaice, although sporting a local name, I would suggest....and did within my complaint, had probably only seen Colwyn bay whilst passing though frozen in the Lorry.
My Wife's Sirloin Steak, way dry and tough, but in fairness it tasted ok, but neither have we experienced Welsh Beef this poor, and she could not finish it.
The soup, whilst quite nice, had been accurately measured at 15mm in the bowl for £5.50 each.
The Plaice £14.50 and the Steak £18.95..plus and extra couple of quid for the cheese topping...did we feel ripped off?
We left feeling unfairly treated with just an apology for comfort.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice food shame about the service.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful location.

However, we were not made welcome on the 26th when we arrived and asked for a table. We were told none were available even though the place was empty.

My colleague asked when one would be available to which the reply was "ten minutes"

She asked if we could sit outside at the river with a drink and we were informed someone would come and take our drinks order. No one did and after 10 minutes she went in and bought them.

We sat another ten minutes and no one came to tell us a table was free so we went in and sat down.

25 minutes we waited on our starter and a further 25 minutes for our main. The food was average. The waitress and young foreign waiter were pleasant although they looked a little flustered at times.

A gent at another table complained loudly that he had waited an unacceptable time for his food and he was right. At least 40 minutes for his main course. It was awful.

The manager?? Much preferred to sit in the hall with a couple of biker mates rather than tend to the customers. Suffice to say we were not offered another drink at any time and decided to pay and leave.

Idyllic surroundings spoiled by lack of an assertive courteous manager and a slow service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColinJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and ate in the restaurant for 2 of them (would of been 3 but had already booked bistro betws y coed) The food was outstanding and freshly cooked, my husband had the slow cooked mutton tart with garlic and leek mash and was blown away by it, to the extent he asked the waiter, the wonderful Rhodhri if he could marry the chef!! Go for the chocolate tart with salted caramel sauce, heavenly!!! Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, you can either go for the full welsh or choose your own. Ate at bistro betws y coed on one night and although good not a patch on this restaurant. Go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fixed price menu in the restaurant. Good choice of starter and main course. We were too full to have a dessert but they all looked good too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing