We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Food”

The Stables Bistro Bar
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Food was nice, it was good being able to sit outside. The place was very busy but we did not have to wait too long to be served. Good value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    540
    217
    69
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lucky stop finds a great place to eat....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

For years I drove through Betws-y-Coed on the way to other places. This weekend, for the first time ever, we decided to stop. We actually wanted to buy a walking hat but as the shop was located next to the Stables Bar we decided it was time for a pit stop.

There are lots of tables outside and inside as well. To be honest the actual decoration etc is nothing you haven't seen a thousand times before but it seemed clean, bright and welcoming. My brother had the Lamb burger, my wife the Sirloin steak and as a vegetarian I ordered the Cheese Jacket. Having experience of small jacket potatoes elsewhere I order a side of beans and Nachos . I should have not bothered. The portion sizes are excellent and the food is very, very good. It is now a place we will plan to stop at.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whizzabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Open all day for food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This bar is just what you need after a long day sightseeing. It serves food throughout the day. We went in for a meal at 5pm on a sunny, busy Friday afternoon & it did the trick! It's a no-frills sort of pub, serving regular pub food with a varied menu. The service was prompt & the meals were good - substantial & reasonably priced. It is part of the 3* Royal Oak Hotel. There is ample outdoor seating for a sunny day. Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We called on a very busy sunday but had no problems finding a table. We went to the bar and ordered to sunday roasts. Services was very quick. Plenty of fresh veg And lots of succulent lamb. We were very impressed and will return again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happychick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmachno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value Good buzz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Usually order the steak. Good quality meat. Good price. Good range of beers, nice buzz, but not the place for a romantic meal. I'll keep going back. A reliable staple. Could do with a segregated and clearly defined smoking area outside so other diners will know if they're down wind.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Hughes006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Bistro Bar also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Stables Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing