We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables Bistro Bar

The Stables Bistro Bar
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

It's a busy pub with large heated patio areas under cover. You cannot book a table, but this is one of only a few pubs and restaurants that serves a good selection of meals late, circa 10pm..Great if you've been walking all day.... Most of the others we found in Betws stopped at 8 or 8.30pm.

Good value, nice pub, central location in Betws.

Would be better if they had a licence that went beyond 11pm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    524
    211
    66
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

It was close to the B&B and was a good stop off at the end of a long day out. the food was always good with a varied menu, so you could eat here more than once and always find something to eat. make sure you're hungry when you go, they don't believe in small portions

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amusing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I call here often whilst passing through, the food has always been good to be fair but it's a guessing game as to whether you get what you wanted. In a previous visit I was served the wrong meal, by the time the correct one came my wife had finished hers and I swear the chef put extra chilli in for the he'll of it, as it happens I loved it. Today was interesting also. Half an hour after ordering my wife's roast beef dinner arrived without any potatoes and Yorkshire pudding, whilst I only had peas for veg!! We manage to catch the eye of one of the staff who brought us 2 Yorkshires plus a plate of potatoes, both boiled and roasters but not my veg. Comedy value is excellent attention to deatail, forget it seems to be the moto.

Helpful?
Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

A group of us visited Betws y Coed in May for a night and this place was recommended to us by the Landlord of the Vagabond bunk house. It has a large beer garden and the whole place was buzzing. Despite being very busy, the staff managed our complicated order with ease. Very impressive and recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good fast service and good pub food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stopped in Betws y Coed on the way back from Llanberis and came across this place. It was busy so we sat outside but this was no problem as they have heaters and some blankets to keep you warm.

The price was reasonable, portion sizes were good and the service was quick and with a smile. Whilst it was not the most refined food it was good pub food and certainly what you need after a trip up Snowdon.

We enjoyed it so much we went back for a second visit which is a massive endorsement from the group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Bistro Bar also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Stables Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing