We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go back anytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Janette and Paul were so welcoming and accommodating that it felt like staying with friends. The breakfast was excellent and the room very comfortable - even our 3 month old baby settled in straight away. Paul's stunning silver craft pieces on display and a cosy lounge room all to ourselves made our stay even more interesting. The house was so close to beautiful walks and the town centre and with such warm and generous hosts, we'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladytrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Dolweunydd recently for a weekend in early January and we would both heartily recommend it. I booked the Cottage Room after much searching on the net and it certainly did live up to my expectations - romantic, private and quaint. The owner Paul is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and I must say this is actually the first time we have really felt the need to write a review on here. Paul really put himself out to help us, right from the initial phone conversations/emails to organise the booking (even when he was on holiday himself!), to putting a DVD player in the Cottage at our request and even driving us to Snowdonia when we missed the bus. We definitely felt looked after at a level we haven't felt before even at 5 star hotels!

The Cottage itself is really beautiful. It's a little separate building in the garden of the house, complete with a little patio table and chairs outside, which would be fantastic for breakfast in the warmer months. There is a little vestibule to keep dirty walking boots and coats out of the main bedroom. The bedroom is really romantic, with beams, a little faux fire, TV, dressing table, a large comfy bed and even a little table and chairs. Breakfast is fantastic and we had the luxury of being served in the cottage room really was a treat. There are also tea and coffee facilities and lovely biscuits, which is a great little pick-me-up after a long day's walk before heading out for supper.

Location-wise this B&B is great for exploring the local walks whilst being close enough to walk to the village for dinner. Perfect little B&B. Big thanks to Paul for his unfaltering hospitality and patience with out lack of walking experience! We have already recommended Dolweunydd Cottage to our friends and hope to get back there sometime soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were two friends staying here for four nights 20-24th of August. It was just like moving in to some family members you had not seen for a while. Outstanding service, kindness and hospitality. Couldn't have asked for more, Paul and Janette (their son as well) did everything for making us feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you very much!
The B&B is located a nice 15 min walk from the centre which we thought was an advantage as well.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank FlyingDutchman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed in the B&B on 31.8.-3.9.2012 and we couldn't have been more pleased. The cottage was absolutely lovely and the location great. It was quiet and the beds really comfy (twin room). Janette and Paul were really friendly and helped us in every way they could. Also the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhelliom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break (29th Nov – 2nd Dec) from this warm, friendly and cosy B&B. We booked the holiday cottage due to it being independent from the main house and us being able to come and go as we pleased. The pictures and description on the website sold it for us. All the booking was done via email with no problems, quick and easy.
The ‘Dolweunydd’ is located on the main high street, 5 minute walk to the shops/restaurants etc, along the river. Perfect location…
The cottage is located down a drive next to the main house with a private parking space right outside.

The Cottage…..

A small entrance hall, with fully stocked tea/coffee making facilities and somewhere to hang up your coats and store your shoes, into the bedroom… ‘Wow’ it was cosy and inviting, tastefully furnished and decorated to a high standard. It was lovely and warm, extremely clean and fresh smelling. The bed was so comfy it was so hard trying to get out of it in the morning.. The room has a flat screen TV, with satellite, a small table and 2 chairs, there is a separate shower room and toilet off the bedroom, again tastefully decorated and well presented, stocked with toiletries. The breakfasts are served in the main house, we had the full English breakfasts and this kept us going all day. Cooked fresh, delivered to our window table piping hot, well presented and above all, delicious..

Our hosts Paul and Jeanette obliviously take great pride in making sure their guests are well looked after and happy; they are so friendly, helpful and nothing was to much trouble, it was more like staying with friends.. Their attention to detail and the little extras make all the difference. The only downside for us was that we had to come home after 4 wonderful days away.

We had did have a peak at the bedrooms in the main house and they are as equally inviting and tastefully decorated all with en suites. Would defiantly recommend the ‘Dolweunydd’, and we will be returning again to our new found ‘Betws y Coed Romantic Retreat…

Room Tip: Quiet, Peacefull and Excellent Value for money....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sillybait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The stand out qualities of the Dolweunydd B&B for us were the fantastic food, the warm and friendly hosts, and the beautiful garden cottage. Paul and Jeanette are amongst the friendliest people we have ever met and couldn't do enough for us from advising on places to eat (like the excellent Bistro Betws-y-Coed) and cooking a late breakfast (due to us arriving late the night before), to printing out alternative Snowdon walking routes and bus timetables. In terms of constructive criticism, I really can't think of any negative points at all. Next time we visit Snowdonia we will definitely be returning to the Dolweunydd B&B, its worth a visit just to sample Paul's amazing salmon and scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discospence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in the Cottage Room for 3 nights in August. Found it to be a really delightful room to the rear of the main house. Breakfast excellent and Paul and Janet great and welcoming hosts. We will definitely be back next year.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Richuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.8 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast

Address: Holyhead Rd | Pentre Du, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolweunydd 4 Star Bed & Breakfast is a small family run business in beautiful Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. All rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, radio, hairdryer, wi-fi, comfortable guests' lounge, private off road parking. We also boast a cosy romantic cottage with en-suite bedroom in the garden at the rear of house with breakfast in the main house (room service optional - dining table for 2 in room), delicious full cooked breakfast provided, options of flowers and wine in your room on arrival and packed lunches can be ordered prior to arrival when booking. Your hosts, Paul and Janette, will aim to make your stay your most memorable. We look forward to you enjoying your stay and wanting to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing