We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Conwy Falls

Conwy Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This visit to the Conwy Falls was a big let down. The walks down to the viewing areas for the falls are not very interesting with no signage or information along the way. Those less nimble might still struggle on the gentler route. The falls themselves were nothing special (although to be fair I guess it partly depends on recent weather patterns) and even the supposedly excellent Conwy Falls Cafe was closed. By contrast, the Swallow Falls on the other side of Betws-y-coed are far more spectacular and worthy of a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BungeeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    67
    43
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“River Conwy Falls in Betws, not the Swallow Falls further upstream”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

There are two sets of Falls, or rapids, on the River Conwy, in close proximity. Travelling along the A5 from England, (or Llandudno/Llanwrst), the first are in the village of Betws-y-Coed proper, are well signposted, provided with proper walks and seating, have information boards explaining various features, including the miners canons, and are free. They are also close to a variety of cafes, bars, hotels and restaurants, with easy access from the local car parks. Like all waterfalls, they are at their best on a fine day after a period of rain. Further on are another set of falls, commercially operated, also worth visiting, but at a cost. They do not have the same facilities as the ones in the village. Take your pick, but we visit the village ones two or three times a year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Called in here for the first time, have seen the signs before but never had the time to stop. Once through the turnstiles there two paths and there was a sign to say which path was the long route and which one was the direct route to the falls. To be honest, neither was very long, but the falls were beautiful and we were so glad we took the time to stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stopped here for the 1st time this year, enjoyed the walk down to the falls and have a few nice photos to remember it by. Glad to have seen what they call the salmon ladder, but don't think I'd stop again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pick Your Route Before Entering”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We parked up at the Conwy Falls Cafe. It is £1 to enter the gorge and see the waterfall (through unmanned turnstiles) so remember to bring change! There are 3-4 different routes of varying difficulty you can take to the falls displayed on a map board but once you get through the turnstiles there is NO map and NO signage! You just have to pick a route and walk... I'm not sure which we picked but we had a 5 year old and a 2.5 year old in tow and they managed it fine.

The views are great and there is plenty of wildlife to see on your walk.

Highly recommended for families, even will small ones but NOT with buggies or prams.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conwy Falls also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Conwy Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing