We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conwy Falls

Conwy Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We walked to Conwy Falls from the Bryn Bella Guest House. It was suggested as part of a walk via the Fairy Glen by our host. It was well worth the effort. Very enjoyable day out Food at the cafe was great as well. All local and fresh baked.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dickysundowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    64
    42
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A natural beauty in a derelict setting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

These fall are a natural beauty but a number of points induced me to assigned the two-out-of- five rating. First of all the highly promoted cafeteria "designed by Sir Clough Williams-Ellis" at the entrance of the falls estate was closed and looked quite neglected.

Access to the falls is still controlled by a coin operated turnstile - if one has to pay to view a natural feature of the park, one would expect something in return but there was only an unclear map that you could view once inside!

Once you are in there are no directions that are necessary as parts of the paths that lead to the views of the falls are quite steep. Besides the paths were poorly maintained and they can only be trekked if you are equipped with proper walking gear.

Perhaps the situation was due to the fact that we visited outside of the high season but this potentially great attraction left much to be desired. Lucky that once we reached the upped viewing point for the falls we enjoyed them as the rest of the experience was not very pleasing.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take away pizzas OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Having read the reviews we were staying in Betws-y-Coed and decided on a take away pizza two actually to take back to our holiday home. Staff very pleasant but somewhat taken up looking after their own children who seem to run around the cafe at will and playing out on the steps up to the door. They were to young to realise they were in the way on the steps especially when trying to get my desabled Son up the steps into the cafe.
Having ordered our Pizzas with extra fillings the smell was very tempting in the car back to our cottage. BUT what a dissapointment when upon opening thje lid the extra fillings which cost us money was almosty invissable. Just three little bits of ham and one mushroom chopped on one and one tiny piece of ham and two bits of peppers on the other. Very dissappointing. Pizzas did taste nice but that was all. Did go back another day to try again this was 5.45p.m. owners children still running wild taking up owners time. Told sorry but ovens not on yet and the cook was only just preparing dough. So left with nothing. Not a good time for us, I'm sure those staying to eat the food was good. Perhaps the owners thought it did not matter for take away food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank mad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury/London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful but limited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

It was a lovely waterfall, and we went just after there had been a lot of rain so it was very impressive. However there is not much scope to explore-understandably it is too dangerous to get close but there's only one place to view them from. A visit to the Conwy Falls Café is a must.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank zoecampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a quick pit stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

A pleasant walk but the falls weren't that spectacular. We went to the cafe first and was then able to walk to the falls for free (out the back of the decked area), rather than pay the £1 toll, which made it a good value cup of tea. The cafe served loose leaf tea and the cakes and food looked good although I didn't sample those

Helpful?
Thank Spudd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conwy Falls also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Conwy Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing