We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Words fail to describe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Words fail to describe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Brilliant restaurant, brilliant food, brilliant service. Had the fortunate experience of deciding to book in advance this restaurant on a recent visit to the area. The quality of food, its presentation and value for money were 1st class and the waiting staff were very pleasant and of good humour, even recommending what was their favourite dessert, which I followed, and whole heartedly agreed with her. Do not fail to reserve your table should you be in this area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brummievp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    172
    56
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“superb menu choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

one of the best menu choices i have seen for alunch menu there was a choice of about 20 mains 7 starters &sweets portions were large and the quality of the food was 1st class prices very reasonable service a1 only complaint was toilet seat in gents was hanging off would certainly return

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beezer67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our first visit of many to come . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My first trip to the Ty Gwyn after many years of visiting Betws-y-Coed with Mountain Biking friends. I wanted to give my wife and youngest son a treat on their first visit to Betws-y-Coed. Firstly, as we walked in we were delighted with the atmosphere and lighting of the interior as well as the comfort at our table setting. Secondly, we were absolutely delighted with the variety and choice of the menu as well as the advertised prices. Thirdly, the food was fantastic, not too long in arriving after ordering, at the right temperature and was delicious. Finally and most importantly, in addition to the quality, tastefulness and price of the food I have to mention the superb quality of staff and the friendly attention that they gave to my family. We will be back 

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a fabulous meal but did have to wait 45 mins for our meal! It was worth the wait luckily.. A beautiful filet mignon and lamb Wellington . My ginger and chocolate cheesecake was stunning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last night of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Absolutely splendid evening to end our honeymoon! The Rev James is by far the best beer I've had in N. Wales. A great selection of exquisitely cooked starter, mains and gratis appetisers followed by desserts to die for. Book early and travel far to sample this atmospheric inn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandDattable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ty Gwyn also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Ty Gwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing