We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming restaurant with great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere with great friendly service. Food was great, especially the ty gwyn tower. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NIghtfish2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    168
    56
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I look forward to our annual visit to this restaurant, so much choice of delicious and different dishes on the menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LinB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Presentation?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked for Saturday Night with Friends for a meal everyone seemed to enjoy their food, but the one meal on first look was disappointing, a dish on a plate with the seafood gratin and another dish with beetroot it was very plain no dressings nothing to give the wow factor although the food tasted ok.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 137AndrewW137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Ty Gwyn is a quirky pub style and a great place to eat. The menu is varied with a great choice of food my meal was fantastic one of the best meals I have ever had and my after eight choc tort after was delicious cant wait to go back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wortho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betws-y-Coed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Having just moved to Betws Y Coed, we were very excited to try the Ty Gwyn having heard lots of great things about it!! It definitely lived up to its reputation! Lovely atmosphere, perfect service, the yummiest food: I would advise missing lunch in order to fit in the three courses!! I would highly recommend a visit!! Brilliant!! Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrynLlewelynBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ty Gwyn also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Ty Gwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing