We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I managed to book a table, which is strongly recommended, and was not disappointed. The choice on the menu was great. I had the welsh lamb in pastry with lovely fresh vegetables. The service was very good considering how busy it was, and I went early! It is expensive, I spent about £34 for two courses and 2 glasses of wine, but money well spent. The atmosphere was good, and the staff were very friendly. I did go into the lounge to sit on the sofa after my meal to finish my drink, again very comfortable and snug.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbiedoo169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    168
    56
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a friendly, quaint hotel/restaurant set in the amazing countryside of the Snowdonia National Park.

The food is always excellent with generous portions, cooked to perfection. I've always found the staff very friendly and the interior offers comfortable dining areas either in the bare or the main restaurant.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyatSpangleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience.
We look forward welcoming you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I made reservations here and as soon as we saw the sign that it was a 16th century coaching inn, we thought we'd be in for a special treat. The decor inside was charming, a mix of period wood furniture, wood-beam ceilings, an old stone fireplace. Very romantic! The service was very good and the food was delicious. While not a huge fan of fish, the cod was mouthwatering! The best part of my meal was dessert...gingerbread pudding with ginger sauce and ice cream. The whole experience was wonderful and romantic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice comments which all the team do appreciate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great food but the service could be better and they need to do something about the tea and coffee served after the meal, as it rather lets down the food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for you valued feedback following your dinner. We will look at our tea and coffee selection, to see if we can improve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Helen & Stu Tromans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay in Ty Gwyn, where nothing was too much trouble. We wanted to stay in room 9b but it wasn't available for the 1st night so we stayed in room 3 then transferred the 2nd night. The staff even transferred our belongings while we were out exploring Fairy Glen and Conwy Falls. Both rooms were perfect, clean and welcoming just like in the picture. The food is mostly locally produced and cooked to perfection. If fast food ie; burgers or fries are what you're looking for, then this is not the place for you.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Manager at Ty Gwyn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to the Ty Gwyn to stay with us .We look forward welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ty Gwyn also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Ty Gwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing