We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family dinner”

The Dragon B&B and Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There was 17 in our group and the staff did well to look after us all and the individual needs of our party - amongst us was a vegan and a few non Chinese eaters - the waiter did his best to provide extra choices for the pickier eaters, and the vegan in the group had salt and pepper tofu which was a huge portion, really tasty and well recommended whether vegan or not. Food was good, service was great and we enjoyed our visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    83
    35
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent banquet meal.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We enjoyed a family banquet meal last night and what a fantastic meal. The whole content was fabulous and there was an impressive choice at every course. The service was excellent also and nothing was too much trouble for the young lady who served us. This was a lovely way to celebrate the Chinese New Year and my wife's birthday. I would certainly recommend the Dragon Restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and friendly service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited for dinner and stayed for the evening! The friendly waiter wasn't at all phased by our enquiry about vegan options on the menu - he had an excellent knowledge of all the meals and their ingredients, as well as recommending drinks to go with them. We had several choices - all of which turned out to be very tasty. The waiter checked on us from time to time to ensure we had what we needed, but didn't hover. The ale drinkers in the party were very impressed by the Great Orme brewery beers available to complement the food too.

Definitely recommended, especially for visiting vegans (try the pancake starter, the chilli beansprouts, blackbean veggies and salt-and-pepper tofu).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alia_801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have eaten here many times before, but this was our first visit for about a year.
We were delighted to find the owner still remembered us and we had a very warm welcome.
The food was excellent as usual and we were pleased to find an additional of local real ales to the drinks menu.
This is a popular resaurant and I highly advise you book in advance. particularly at the weekend. We hadn't booked so didn't mind a bit of a wait in the comfortable bar, browsing through magazines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_J_S-1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So good we went back twice!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I can't have another Chinese after this it was amazing. We had the Fire Dragon set meal and after two courses we struggling with the volume but it was just so nice we just had to keep eating lol.
We enjoyed it so much we went back the second day of our trip. This was just as tasty but the birds nest was a bit burnt and left us thinking we should of only of gone the first day, especially when charged full price even though we couldn't eat it.
The tastiest Chinese we have ever had and we would even drive the 200 miles from home just for another one :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRambler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dragon B&B and Restaurant also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Dragon B&B and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing