We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eagles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Eagles
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Lovely hostel, very clean, comfortable beds. Very well equipped kitchen for self catering. Nice homely feel.
Very warm and cosy stay. Good value for money.
We were looked after well by Michelle, lovely lady ( not the owner)
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A large group of us stayed here for one night before a day of mountain climbing. 'The Bunkhouse' offers mostly rooms for groups of people, but you can book an individual room if required. The room I stayed in had two bunk-beds, laminated flooring, tea & coffee making facilities and great views. There is a communal kitchen, which is well equipped. The accommodation is situated above The Eagle pub, which is mostly used by locals and the odd traveller. Food is not available in the pub, so make sure you either eat before or take something to cook. The nearest place to eat is Betws-y-Coed which is 4.5 miles away. (Great Fish and Chip shop)

Room Tip: Remember to take your own food
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is the second time of staying as group, we go for the scenic walks of Snowdonia. Fantastic friendly faces...both staff and members of the village community. Penmachno is a little out of the way, but that's what makes it.

It can be a little hectic when there is full occupancy, but that also adds to sociable atmosphere.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend, a quality local pub with comfortable clean boarding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klick4nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This bunkhouse is an excellent location for a budget break away from the city - it is located in beautiful countryside with walks and bike tracks straight from the village, and for less energetic days a short drive will get you to local attractions such as Betws-y-Coed, Bodnant Gardens, Blaenau Ffestiniog, etc.

I was lucky enough to be working in Snowdonia and stayed at The Eagles with five colleagues in two bunkrooms. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and pleasantly decorated with a welcoming supply of tea, coffee and biscuits in each room.

The shared kitchen/dining room was well equipped and clean with fresh decor, a TV and board games.

I don't know how much was paid for our stay but The Eagles website says that beds are £17 per person per night (with reductions for big groups and longer stays) and I would say that this is good value and I plan to return with my partner for a short holiday in the future.

I found it a particular bonus that the bunkhouse is upstairs over a great pub! We were lucky enough to encounter the once a month 'open mic' night on the Wednesday of our stay and had a great time. If pub culture isn't your thing, however, the pub is actually closed on Mondays and Tuesdays when all is quiet, so you could plan your stay around that.

The only downside that I should mention is that the village of Penmachno has no other pub, no restaurants, cafes or shops - you either cater for yourself at The Eagles or drive somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed at The Eagles for a weekend as we wanted somewhere close to Snowdon. The accomodation is very comfortable, clean and was just what we were looking for. Gerry, Landord of The Eagles, is very helpful and as a bonus the pub is great - a real village pub !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Everything was perfect, near to snowdon for the climb, and a nice clean and freindly atmosphere, really relaxed, would recommend to anybody wanting to find somewhere near the mountain that's good value for money and wanting toexperience a bit of welsh locality!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, CI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I have stayed at The Eagles several times over the years, and I have always enjoyed it. The bunk rooms are a bit small, but are always clean and light. There are good bathroom facilties, and a nice large shared kitchen/common area with board games for the quiet evenings after walking.
The bunkhouse is in a fantastic location in the village of Penmachno. It is isolated from the main roads, but the bunkhouse is just 10 minutes drive south from Betws-y-Coed. At night it is beautifully dark and quiet, and by day the views down the unspoilt valley are brilliant.
One of my best friends is a mountain biker, and there was facilties for him to store his bike before taking on the nearby trail (which I understand from him is amazingly good for mountain biking).
The only downside is the rooms are above the pub, so it can be a bit noisy in the evenings. The parking nearby can be difficult, especially on Sundays when people use the nearby church, but there is some parking further afield.

All in all a great place to use as a base while exploring the Snowdonia National Park and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernseygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
3.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.4 mi away
The Vagabond
The Vagabond
#6 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagles

Property: The Eagles
Address: Gethin Square | Penmachno, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0UG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Heart of Snowdonia, a Luxury Bunkhouse in a Real Ale Pub. The Eagles,Penmachno lies at the heart of Snowdonia in a secluded valley, four miles from Betws-y-Coed. For walkers and climbers, Snowdon, the Carneddau, the Glyders, in fact, all of the Welsh 3000ft peaks are within 15 miles. For canoeists, the Conwy, Llugwy, Lledr and Ogwen are only a short driveaway. For mountain-bikers, the world class Penmachno track is half a mile away; the Marin track at Llanrwst twenty minutes; Coed-y-Brenin half an hour.The Eagles' centrally heated bunkhouse sleeps up to 30, in 4 and 2 bunkrooms; all rooms are private (you won't be sharing with strangers) and all bed-linen is provided. Secure bike lock-up and drying room. Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Eagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eagles Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing