We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We didn't find this on Trip Advisor as we were looking for restaurants, not hotels but this was recommended to us by a member of staff in the other highly rated restaurant when we couldn't get in there. I'm glad they did! I had lamb shank on a Morrocan style cous cous which was cooked to perfection. I don't say that easily as I have very high standards. The staff who helped us were friendly and considerate, making us feel really welcome and helping out with making sure our 2 year old was happy, even offering to bring his food first which seems rare these days. I would definitely go back. This place should be listed as a restaurant, it could easily be number 1 in Betws.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

As the hotel is not listed as a restaurant we will leave our review on here. We ate here both nights on this visit and in June when we spent one night in the village. The food is excellent quality every time and the service we have received has been perfect. When we phoned up to book a table the staff even remembered us by name from the previous occasion. A perfect place to eat with exceptionally good value. A must to eat there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's a shame this hotel is not listed as a restaurant on Tripadvisor, I'd have found it sooner and they would be busier. We ate here twice during our 6 night stay in Betws-y-coed. The enormous and generously filled fish pie was excellent and a very welcome change from local beef & lamb (which is very good, but I couldn't eat it every night!) My husband's sirloin steak was massive and perfectly cooked, and I was very jealous of the home made chips which accompanied it. Very friendly and helpful staff and a nice restaurant area - you can eat the bar menu in the restaurant too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dmsuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week long holiday(not long enough) in North Wales the weather was fantastic.We decided to have a meal to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary at the Pont-y-Pair hotel and we were not disappointed.I had the Sirloin Steak with green beans and homemade chips and green pepper sauce hubby had the large mixed grill the portions were huge and the quality was spot on (only one little complaint usually you get mushrooms and onion ring with steak we did ask but was informed they didn't do them) however might not have managed to eat them all if they did.Highly recommended promise you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank fionafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff here were all very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar food was excellent and far exceeded what we would have expected in this type of establishment. Was noisy due to being right on the A5. Bethan was very accommodating and, due to unusual circumstances we had to cancel on two occasions but were not charged any cancellation fees and prices remained as the original booking despite finally arriving at a more expensive time of year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank alan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The service and ambience were fine - the starters of Risotto with chorizo and scallops was amazing - scallops cooked absolutely perfectly for both of us. For the main I chose a duo of duck - one with an asian noodle and the other in a canneloni. The noodles and duck were great but the canneloni was pretty grim. The pasta was far too thick for the duck inside which was a lovely shredded duck but with no sauce so the pasta seemed heavy and glutinous - the dish just did not work. If the duck had been in a light ommelet or some light filo pastry it would have complemented the other part of the dish much better. My husband had a mixed grill which for the price was very good value - the chips were very very good! The Wine was a nice Rioja and reasonably priced - good value if you choose your dish carefully.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank salthewelsjhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I, and a hiking companion ate here 3 nights in a row, May 27,28 and 29. We didn't plan it that way. We were using Betws-y-Coed as a base for exploring and hiking Snowdonia. At the end of each day, we would drive back to town tired, sometimes soaked from the rain and cold, and definitely in need of a few pints and some decent hot food. On the first night, the easiest thing to do was park the car and walk from our B&B to the Pont-y-Pair, have some pints in the cozy bar area and then simply order dinner. But we really came to like the place, the food, the atmosphere and the staff. The waitress and the barman we had all 3 nights were attentive and friendly. You can eat in the bar, sitting in snugs and on upholstered comfy chairs or in the dining room. On the bar side, you place your order at the bar and they bring your food out to your table. On the dining room side, there is full wait service. We saw lots of locals eating there and that is always a good sign. Every night there were specials not on the standard menu and these were especially good deals. Overall the food and drinks were reasonably priced. The Pont-y-Pair was very, very good to us and all 3 of us recall it fondly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $78 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont-y-Pair Hotel And Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing