We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gwydyr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gwydyr Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a quick getaway in Snowdonia with my partner and my dog. I initially felt a bit apprehensive about booking the Gwydyr based on past reviews, however, I decided to take on board comments re: the recent change in management and give the place a go. I made the right decision!
Firstly, the location is fantastic. Right in the centre of the town with its own spacious car park.
Secondly, the welcome was by far one of the warmest I've ever received - particularly the fuss made of our four-legged friend who was made to feel welcome in all parts of the hotel, bar and restaurant....very unusual as most 'dog friendly' places make you leave the dog in the room at breakfast time - not here! Hugo (the dog) was even treated to his own sausage!
Our double room was comfortable, clean and warm - just what was needed after a days walking around Snowdon. The shower was hot and the towels super soft.
Both meals we ate in the hotel were well cooked and delicious. The evening meal menu consisted of simple dishes which we found to be fresh, well cooked and in generous portion sizes. I had the scampi and my partner had the rack of rib - both were excellent value for money.
My other half wanted to watch the champions league football match in the 'TV room' which was a large room and was therefore a little chilly in March! We were given our own heater, positioned right by the side of our table so were kept lovely and warm!
Breakfast was also well worth the £7.50 a head and consisted of premium branded cereals, fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, toast, premium branded preserves and a hearty full English.
Overall, I would definitely recommend the Gwydyr Hotel and will definitely return at some point in the near future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DudleyNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Gwydyr Hotel. We are delighted that you all had a great time. We know how important a four legged friend can be to a family, so it's lovely to hear you all enjoyed yourselves, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
78
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Probably the best pint of guinness I've had in a long time especially the best in Betws. The Gwydr and it's host, Dawn, were both warm and welcoming. The renovations look great. Food on offer was excellent and really good value but really looking forward to the carvery opening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Guinness and your meal, we hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

on arriving to the gwydyr sat night wow what a great transformation its gorgeous its got log fires in all the rooms and lovely decor the hotel may not be finished but im sure quite excited on the end result the new owner rob was very welcoming and run us through what was to be done it sounds like its going to be amazing i love the little shop thats part of the gwydyr its great good luck rob and dawn on the future hope all goes well and see you most weekends as the hotel is a great place to be

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our hotel. Both Rob and I are delighted that you like it so much and look forward to catching up with you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Gwydyr hotel is under new management, and you can already see the massive improvements undertaken! The downstairs area looks sleek and classy yet is very comfortable with burning stoves in every room and a charming snug area where you can relax on a sofa playing scrabbles. The staff is so friendly and will do their best to ensure you have a good stay. The bedroom we stayed in was massive with the biggest bed ever! Nice flat screen tv too. Over our stay we have sampled most of their menu, which was very nice indeed. There are still some improvements to be made on the hotel, but it is definitely up and coming, and very good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stéphanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are so pleased you liked the refurbishment and enjoyed our home cooked food. Looking forward to seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wow what a transformation this hotel is undergoing. Although the renovations are still taking place the bar is open for business and we had a fantastic lunch the other day. Food was first class and very good value for money unlike some other eateries in Betws which charge an arm and a leg just for sandwiches or a jacket potato. The new décor is beautiful and the log burner was just what we needed to dry out after a very wet walk with the dog. I was afraid that now the hotel is being done up so posh that dogs would no longer be welcome, but quite the opposite. We met Dawn the new owner and she is a real dog lover so we needn't have worried on that score. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us to make us feel welcome. I cant wait to go back and try the carvery once the rest of the downstairs has been renovated. My only worry is that once the hotel has been modernised we will never be able to get a table, as so far it has been Betws's best kept secret!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gib87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, very pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

firstly I have never written a revive before but feel I have to due to some of the negative feedback this hotel has got stayed here for 1 night 14/2/14 alright the hotel is in the middle of a re-vamp as stated before you book but just to question a few picky people who have left feedback our room was dated but spotless and the bed as comfy as anywhere we have stayed before the staff were ever so polite and helpful breakfast full English spot on and you get proper cups in your room for a brew instead of a thimble thanks to you all hopefully we will see you soon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad to hear you had a great time and a good night's sleep! Looking forward to seeing you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwydyr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwydyr Hotel

Property: The Gwydyr Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gwydyr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwydyr Hotel is a Family, Pet Friendly Hotel which offers home-made, hearty, wholesome lunches and dinners using local Welsh Produce. All dietary needs catered for. Come and sit by the cosy log fires and read the weekend papers, or why not enjoy the sunshine, sit outside with a local Ale, watch the world go by and soak up the outstanding scenery in the centre of Betws y Coed. Free Parking Available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gwydyr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gwydyr Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing