We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenwood Guest House
Ranked #7 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Marie and Said are excellent hosts who made us welcome straight away. We were shown where we could securely park our motorcycles in the garage. The rooms were spotless and spacious and everything was of the highest quality. Very scenic location and very convenient to local amenities. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a superb full English breakfast. We stayed in the large family room which had large double bed in one room with a door leading to another large room containing three single beds with an adjoining en suite bathroom with shower, toilet and a lovely free standing bath.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't praise the place enough. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186361Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 343 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Glenwood Guest House for 2 nights in May, 2013 for a short break between the bank holiday weekends. We wanted to climb Snowdon and it was in an excellent location just a short drive from Llanberis. We chose to stay at this particular guest house having read all the good reviews here on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed! We were greeted with a pot of tea and Marie and Said were very friendly and welcoming hosts. Our room was cosy but with a comfortable bed and good shower. We were just a short walk from the centre of Betws-y-Coed for well-earned drinks and dinner in the evenings, and cooked breakfasts at the guest house were very good in the mornings. We would definitely stay again, thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyJumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent the May bank holiday in Snowdonia and was fortunate we managed to get a place at Glenwood. Great for drivers as it comes with parking and the rooms overlook a nice hill which always has a couple of sheeps. Maria and Said are both very hospitable and when we were chatting, we shared our itineary on how we planned to climb mount snowdon on sunday. As we were heading out for mountain biking, Maria came rushing to let us know that Monday was actually the better day to climb Snowdon instead of sunday. Rooms were spacious and clean, shower facilities were good too. Location is great to explore snowdonia and we will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mei246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Three of us stayed over for a couple of days as part of a motorcycle tour. We were delighted by the warm welcome offered by Marie and Said, both very helpful. Our rooms were of high quality and the breakfast was excellent. If you have a bike then it will be looked after in the back garden garage, locked and secure. There is a nice area for families, friends etc to congregate in the garden if the weather is nice (we had rain but still had a good time) We all would stay again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Glenwood is a lovely family suited place to stay - we felt so welcome and our children had fun playing in the garden with the large range of kids activities! The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable with classy little touches. We had all we could have needed and more - as a NON tea drinker I was offered plenty of juice and even had hot choc drink and cookies in the rooms! we enjoyed our bank holiday weekend even more because we got to stay in a clean and relaxed place where even our children commented on how much they liked it! Marie and Said have a great place and its run in such a way you feel at home, breakfast was just the best we have had and really sets you up for the day - a good list to choose from too! - Glenwood is set in a lovely location, avoids the very busy part of the village but is still in walking distance of shops and restaurants. We will visit again for sure and would happily have the same rooms as they worked very well for our family, not often we have two bathrooms to share! We as a family recommend Glenwood 100% and cant wait to return! Thank you Marie & Said xxx

Room Tip: as well as having a family room on the ground floor, rooms 4 and 5 are at the end of a hallway and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a fantastic stay, very welcoming, we and the motorbikes were well looked after, the bikes even had their own room in the garage :-)

lovely rooms, and en-suite, would definately recommend to anyone looking for accom in Betws-y-Coed. Plenty of car/bike parking at Glenwood

Hoping to go back again with friends next time so they can see why we had such a brilliant time.

Thank you to Marie and Said.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOMLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Marie and Said have thought of everything, right down to the alarm clocks in every room. We were a family of four (2 boys aged 6&8) staying 3 nights for a family wedding. We had the choice to stay at the large local hotel but chose to stay at Glenwood and I'm happy we did - Marie and Said are very child-friendly and understanding - the boys got their own en suite room (with adjoining door to ours) with which they were extremely pleased! We got quite a lot of peace! We all had very comfortable beds, excellent bathrooms and lovely home-made breakfasts. For the same price the hotel would have provided anonymous 'budget' accommodation (a fold-out sofa bed in our room for the children) and a mass produced breakfast. The centre of town can get very busy and it was nice to stay a few minutes walk away where it was quiet and spacious with fantastic views. We will definitely stay here again - we didn't get a chance to see Snowdon!

Room Tip: There is a spacious family suite or the option of two adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrymansure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Guest House

Address: Glenwood Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $98 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Glenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing