We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenwood Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
B'ham
1 review
“Fabulous family service”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Glenwood as a suprise for my Dad's 60th birthday coupled with a walk up Snowdon. Marie was fantastic on welcoming us and even during the booking process was able to suggest places we could eat in the evening and offered to help get anything we needed to suprise my Dad with.
The rooms themselves are excellent. We took over 5 rooms in total including the family room (which is amazing!) and the beds are comfy, the bathrooms compact but modern and fresh, and the garden was brilliant. Having 3 children all under the age of 5 meant that they could play in the gardens at the front and back and the owners boys also came out to play football with them which my boys loved.
We were blessed with gorgeous weather and spent the evening in the garden under the gazebo which was lit up drinking wine while the children all slept - great night!
Also close by to the village centre which we enjoyed the following day after a very filling and delicious breakfast.
Can't fault this place at all and would definitely come back and stay again.
Thanks to Marie, Said, and her gorgeous boys.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3JBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
140
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambs, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I just wanted to add a few extra things to GadgetGrans review.
The guys are a well oiled team at this B&B, the family popped by to say hello during our 3night break and always made us feel at home and couldn't have helped us more with drying very wet biking gear to booking a wonderful Thai in the next town for the Sat night.
The rooms are lovely and clean with versitile storage in the family room - we even found that the storage was made for our helmets and with 4 ladies sharing this room with our bike luggage, we managed to tuck the unneeded bike luggage away, to keep the floor clutter free.
Bathroom was spacious, bath not touched during our stay but the shower was perfect being a large cubicle.
There is a conservatory at the back of the B&B which we used for all 6 of us when we returned sopping wet on Sat afternoon, with a selection of magazines and lots of local walking info - we chatted the later part of the afternoon away in the dry, to watch the sun then come out and some other residents sit outside under pagoda.
B&B is a 10min walk from the centre of the town along the river, where there is a large selection of places to eat and as I mentioned there is another town a short taxi ride away for additional choices for food.
Also of note, there is a Shell petrol station at the opposite end of the town with sensible prices and the crew there do not require helmets to be removed, even with a big group of 6.
Got to be 10 out of 10 for the whole package!
If I can I will load some of the pics taken while here for you to see!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Just returned from an uttterly fantastic stay here.
We were six lady motorcyclists from all over UK, on our first trip away together.
Garage parking for 3 bikes,secure parking for the other 3.
Extremely welcome tea on a tray brought out as we returned, sodden, from a days riding.
Provision for drying wet gear.
Rooms spotless, comfortable, loads of storage space (and with gorgeous fluffy white towels!).
Free wi-fi - very useful for weather forecasts on iPhone!
Great breakfast choices - recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg option,
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were truly lucky to choose this wonderful place for staying in Betws-y-Coed for our vacation. The location is perfect - not too far from the center and the railway station, but not too close to it to be distracted by the outside noise. There is a bus stop just near the guesthouse, which is very handy to get to hiking places if you're not driving a car like us.
Our twin room was clean and fresh, and we loved nice little touches like chocolate drinks and biscuits, the window was wide and the view was lovely.
There is a quiet and nicely decorated backyard, where you can sit outside even if it's raining, or lay in the hammock if it's sunny.
Our favorite thing was breakfast and its variations, you can check what you gonna have in the evening of previous day. I think we tried all possible variants during our one week stay and it was just perfect every time.
But the best "feature" of this place is of course people - most wonderful and kind hosts, which were so helpful and friendly, that we felt like at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsvetova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have just got back from a stay at Glenwood House and had a great time. Marie & Said were friendly and helpful, the B&B was lovely and clean & the breakfasts were fantastic! We will be back! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_9976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at The Glenwood. Marie was very welcoming and friendly.
The room was overlooking the forest and it was immaculate. Decorated to a really high standard and cleanliness was second to none. I cant recommend this guest house enough. Probably the best B&B we've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockport1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Glenwood Guest House for 6 nights and didn't want to leave at the end of our holiday. Our room turned out to be the smallest at the B&B but this wasn't a problem. The room (as the whole establishment) had been totally refurbished in the last year and was immaculately clean. We wanted for nothing. And the bedding/towels smelled amazing!

Marie and Said were hosts second to none. They made us feel welcome from the second we arrived and after six days we almost felt like family. Nothing was too much trouble. They even brought us tea in the garden when we staggered back after a hard day's biking - no charge either! Marie's dad is a great source of local information

The breakfasts were lovely. Food is ordered the evening before and hence arrives promptly the next morning. The eggs are the best - from the hens that they keep in their garden. Can't beat free range!

The B&B is on;y 5 minutes walk from the centre of Betws y Coed which is quite handy if you are popping into the village for a spot of shopping or to dine out. Beware all the fab outdoor shops - they'll put a serious dent in your pocket as they present bargains galore.

If biking then you MUST go to Penmachno.

If you like Thai food than visit Llanwrst and the Amorn Thai Restaurant - a amall place but amazing food and amazing service at a reasonble price.

We would go back to Glenwood in an instant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey_Babes1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Guest House

Property: Glenwood Guest House
Address: Glenwood Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing