We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night”

Bistro Betws-y-Coed
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely night”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited on the 26th, shared platter to start and lamb shanks followed by a great desert, staff were friendly and helpful what a great place for a meal

Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    253
    76
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent, we went two nights in a row!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Delicious food, good value, friendly service and handy location. Good idea to book ahead as it gets very busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1976London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food - understaffed”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We visited here on Saturday 23rd August, which is the bank holiday Saturday - so we were expecting it to be busy. Our table was booked for 8:30.

First things first, they mixed up our booking and had us booked for the day after, which wasn't the end of the world as it was a bit later and they had a spare table.

It was immediately obvious that they needed at least 1 extra member of the waiting team and that the staff on duty were fully rushed off their feet.

For starter, I opted for the "Wood Pigeon" and what I learnt was - I don't like wood pigeon! Although the sauce was very nice and it was perfectly cooked, it's definitely worth giving it a go.
My girlfriends Salmon Gravadlax was nice.

Both our main dishes of Roasted lamb rump + Trout were very good.

Overall the meal was good and I would definitely recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We Have been to the Bistro on many occasions in the past, the place is the same very clean well presented and friendly staff. Our meal was very nice until our Ribeye steak arrived, all 4 of us had the steak and all had to leave it, it was a very tough piece of meat, we was given our desserts for free but the steak was very expensive and a bitter disappointment, The food coming to other tables looked great but we had been told that the restaurant had changed from local produce to a cheeper supplier, i don't know if this is the problem, but something was not good that night.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank skrabevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our 4th visit to the Bistro. We have always had a great meal, however on this occasion it was disappointing.

The staff were very helpful, and informative about the menu, wines and beers.m we wanted a window seat and they re allocated us to a window table.

The appetisers and starters were excellent, I had the mushroom bruschetta and our friends had the Pate, we followed the meal with the rib eye steak which was very disappointing. It was tough and not enjoyable, therefore all four in party left half. The accompaniments veg and chips were good, but let down by the steak.

The waitress did ask if it was ok and we said that we actually found the steak to be of poor quality, she said that she would let the chef know, she came back and offered us a free dessert which we had, and again these were very good.

Although on this occasion we have been disappointed we will return to this restuarant, just change your supplier for the steak.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula7Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Betws-y-Coed also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bistro Betws-y-Coed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing