We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food Value for money”

Bistro Betws-y-Coed
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kilmacolm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food Value for money”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Tasty. well cooked food from an imaginative menu. Pleasant, unobtrusive service. Quiet relaxing ambience. The only wrong note was the shrill ring of the telephone which could perhaps be placed somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    253
    76
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Not Adventurous enough to Me”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Not to be Davey-Downer but the food was terrific and all; but nothing new. It’s the standard faire that makes everybody happy. Fancy or pretentious items with heavy sauces and pretty garnishes; delicious and well-prepared. But if I only had 2 nights to spend in Betws-y coed, I’d rather go to other places. It wouldn’t be fair to mention them but you can find my opinion elsewhere. Just to clarify my apparent schizophrenia, if your not into Extreme dining go here. Be sure to make reservations even on weekdays in late September.
I had smoked haddock w/ a creamy sauce; not a hint of fishiness and the kind of sauce that makes you feel euphoria. Their fish is caught by the staff, apparently, so it is very fresh. I started with the mussels which may have been the best I’ve ever had. My friend started with scallops and blood pudding, which is a great combination. For entree, he had sea bream which was moist and great. For desert we went to the Spar which has a great bakery. Menu link is on their website (how clever!)
Décor is light-colored paneling with rustic-ey Alpine touches and subdued lighting: romantic but fresh (and you can read the menu.) We had an excellent waitress; lots of fun and information. Parking will be really tricky. You’d need to park down the hill or double park in the street as one does now in G.B.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveandChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing! Book a table”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We hadn't booked a table so had to go away and have a drink and come back an hour later but it was definitely worth it. The restaurant was fully booked, we had the last table and although it was in a room off the main restaurant where most people were sitting there was still a good atmosphere.

The food was amazing, fresh and locally sourced. The best bit was the fudge and welsh cakes they bring you at the end. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Broughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just the best food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have eaten here a number of times since it opened about 7 years ago. It is the best place we go to no matter where else we eat out. The food is fresh, sourced locally and really good value for money. The portions are generous and the added touches of amuse bouche and homemade fudge and welsh cake with coffee/bill lovely. You do need to book at popular times. We went twice last week when staying in the area and even though Sat. night was really busy, the service was as usual, excellent.There is a good selecttion for all diets and I am lucky to always have plenty of choices for gluten free. An all round thumbs up!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judeandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were recommended this lovely Bistro by the owners of Tan Dinas B&B. They weren't wrong. The welcome was warm, the food amazing.lots of choice of locally sourced food. So good we went back the second evening too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank holidaytime1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Betws-y-Coed also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bistro Betws-y-Coed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing