We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the staff and the wine.”

Bistro Betws-y-Coed
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame about the staff and the wine.”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Was a little bit put off with the person who greeted us,and nearly went back out !! but the boy who served us was very nice and helpful, the food was lovely we had seafood platter to start with which was very nice, i would of liked to have had a glass of wine with my dinner but they only sold it by the bottle and my husband doesnt drink and i didnt want a whole bottle to myself !! and ther wasnt much else on offer, my husband asked for an non alocholic beer to be told they didnt have any. ! The table of four that walked in behind us walked out when they found out about the wine. Apart from the attuitude of that staff member and the wine it was an ok meal but wouldnt eat there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chocoholic056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    257
    79
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A really nice place to eat. The food was excellent and obviously fresh. We enjoyed a varied menu and all at a reasonable price. Only critisim if one at all, the staff were very busy and we felt like they were ready to go home. In fairness we were having a late lunch. The food was great. Book in advance.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little bistro ideal for hungry walkers”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Proper bistro food, cooked and served with care. Really excellent service and generous portions. Really nothing bad to say about it - would definately go there again next time I'm in Snowdonia

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon_of_Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
461 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Came here for food with my partner's family.
The food was excellent, the sort of quality I would expect of an expensive restaurant in a large city. Locally sourced, well cooked and reasonably priced.
The restaurant is split into two dining areas and they are both cosy and not too cramped.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal I have had for a long time”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We went on a Monday night and it was still very busy. The food was brilliant, the banoffee mess was particularly good! The little canapes and welshcakes were a nice touch and the wine was good quality.

We were slightly worried by the length of time it took the staff to take our order but once this had been done they were efficient and friendly. As mentioned, the chairs were a bit uncomfortable after a while but the food more than makes up for it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becky1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Betws-y-Coed also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bistro Betws-y-Coed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing