We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed here for my 50th Birthday. Absolutely fantastic what more can I say. Views, hospitality and accomodation excellent. Decided to try the smoked salmon and scrambled egg following the excellent comments on trip advisor and it lived up to all expectations. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review - it is much appreciated by both John and I. It is always a great pleasure to read through reviews such as yours, they are an inspiration to help us in our continued commitment to maintain the high standards guests receive at Tan Dinas Country House. It matters to us greatly that our guests have happy memories of their holiday as we all work so hard throughout the year that it is important any break we have is one to be remembered.

We do hope you will come back and see us again and become one of our growing number of "Regulars".

Kindly accept our warmest regards. Eileen and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
433
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

A lovely small hotel, run by owners Eileen and John, whose professionalism and hospitality was exceptional. It is located in a peaceful and picturesque spot in the edge of Betws y Coed, 6-7 min walk from the centre, with magnificent views. Its location, just off the main road is a great advantage, as one can avoid all the noise and traffic from the busy road, while there is also a spacious car park. The house is surrounded by unique, perennial trees creating a magic atmosphere. It is in an excellent condition, and had a very good, light feeling, besides the weather been miserable and dark! The room we stayed had fantastic views, was very clean and one could adjust the heating according to their needs, which was fantastic (it was 1 Celsius outside when we arrived, and the room was jolly warm!) The shower is new and had very good water pressure. There were coffee and tea making facilities, with the thoughtful touch of a small jar with fresh milk in the fridge. There was also free TV with sky and free wireless internet. There was a nice cosy living room for the guests and a small reading room, full of guides and local information. There was space in the entrance for muddy boots and wet clothes, these little things that make life easier and a stay so much more enjoyable! The breakfast was served in a lovely room, there was good variety of cereals and the hot breakfast was superb.
Betws y Coed is conveniently close to activities and sight-seeing in Snowdonia, and this place was a star! We saw quite a few of the available hotels and B&Bs in the area, and we could not find one to beat Tan Dinas!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyDna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Eileen and John should be so very proud of their bed and breakfast.Easy to find location,and what a beautiful house,the room we had faced east adn the sun breaking through the mist and the trees was spectacular.
Eileen was a fabulous host,very chatty and easy to get on with,made you feel very welcome.The room was lovely,really homely and cosy,with a fantastic supply of tea-bags and coffee,fresh milk in a little fridge was a great idea.
Break fast was absolutely delicious,our compliments to John!and indeed,lasted us nearly the whole day.
Would recommend this house to anybody wanting to stay in the particular area,sadly,we were only there for one night,but wouldn't hesitate to go there again.
Thank you Eileen and John,for running such a lovely place and being fantastic hosts.
Cheers Jen and Rhodri

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed for 5 days and everything was fantastic- the hosts, the room and the breakfasts. Eileen was very friendly, helpful and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. (The chocolate cake left in the room on a birthday was a nice touch and a totally unexpected treat!) We will certainly return for another visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Tan Dinas is one of the best places we stayed on a three week tour of England. Eileen is 'front of house', and a warmer welcome would be hard to find - such a cheerful, charming lady, full of enthusiasm for Wales, and full of information of what to see and where to see it.

Our room was delightful, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom luxurious, and the breakfast a feast! What more could we want.

We were sent on our way wih a warm hug, and left with the desire to return as we felt we were leaving friends.

Joy and Dave

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOYGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This bed and breakfast was a great place to stay. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts are extremely friendly and accommodating. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there in September. I would definitely stay there again. The value for the service was beyond reproach. I loved this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We arrived at Tan Dinas and were met with a warm welcome from Eileen. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and decorated in a very attractive blue and white design. Breakfast was served in an elegant dining room and we were provided with a delicious menu which was hard to resist. This we were able to enjoy overlooking a terrace leading down to the riverwhile. At the same time, we were treated to a front row spectacle of the local bird population performing their acrobatic stunts while visiting the bird feeders placed opposite the large picture window .
Tan Dinas is located in a quiet area of Betws y Coed and is just a short 10 min walk to the village.
If you feel in the need of a bit of pampering in a beautiful location, Eileen and John's country house is just the remedy. Eileen and John were a delight and treated their guests as valued friends. We stayed three nights, but would have loved to have extended our stay for longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
741 reviews
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing