We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Wonderful Hospitality and Setting””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Wonderful Hospitality and Setting””
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were part of a group of birdwatching friends and couldn't believe our eyes as we arrived at Tan Dinas. The house is beautiful, the gardens very neat with comfy seating to allow you to take in breathtaking views of the idyllic valley spread out below, and Eileen and John are so friendly and efficient that our stay was simply brilliant. The house is warm and very clean, the decor is tasteful, the little reading room area is a great resource and the lounge was great for our group to relax in after our suppers at the Pont y Pair Inn just down the road. The rooms seemed to be totally soundproof and the decor, shower room and bed in our Elm Family Room were super. We had a small fridge, with fresh milk in it every day, too. As for the breakfasts... we all tried most of the dishes on offer and everything was cooked to perfection - from porridge to a full Woodcutter's breakfast, from excellent fresh fruit salad to steaming fresh coffee and Earl Grey tea. We were all birdwatching over breakfast, from the light and uncluttered dining room, and saw grey squirrel, tits, woodpeckers, nuthatches and even a spotted flycatcher! We went to lots of top nature reserves and beautiful areas within easy striking distance, and enjoyed seeing dipper and goosander on the clear, rushing river down in Betws-y-Coed, just minutes from Tan Dinas. The icing on the cake (literally) was that we came home early on our only very wet afternoon to find a huge, scrumptious chocolate cake and 10 plates and serviettes waiting for us in the lounge. "Happy Birdwatching" inscribed on the top was the loveliest touch and cheered us all up instantly. We'd enjoyed John's cooking and met him briefly but he also came out on our last morning, with Eileen, to have a team photo in the sunshine and wish us Bon Voyage.

Room Tip: The 2 front bedrooms have amazing views over the valley and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarleySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
It's such a joy to watch guests enjoy themselves, have some fun and some relaxation too. You certainly achieved all your aims in seeing many of the birds on your "List" Thank you so much for your company and sharing your exploits with me together with helping identify some of the rarer birds which have decided to nest in our grounds. It was a privilege to have you all stay. Thank you for your welcome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
419
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Reasons why we thought this the "Bestest Ever" B&B
The warm welcome. (On arrival, following a comment about being ready for a cup of tea after our long journey, a pot of Earl Grey was brought to us in the garden where we could enjoy the beautiful view). Friendly and interesting chats with a bit of 'craic' thrown in for good measure. AMAZINGLY delicious breakfast. Superbly clean accommodation with lots of unexpected extras in the bedroom, i.e.bathroom slippers, tissues, bottled water, sweets. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captpeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
As you say a bit of "craic" does us all good and there's generally some of that here. Happy you enjoyed the white water rafting and hoping you will return from Ireland for another adventure in the future. Many thanks for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

10 birdwatchers from South Wiltshire stayed with the wonderful Eileen and John for 4 nights. We chose to base ourselves in Betws - y - coed as it was convenient for visiting Anglesey, Conwy and the Gwydyr Forest. Tan Dinas is virtually in the forest. The birding is actually excellent from the house, with woodland species around the lovely garden, and the bonus of spotted flycatchers arriving to nest on the building. A wood warbler was singing just up from the house and dippers and goosanders can be seen on the Afon Lledr which flows through Betws. The weather was surprisingly good for our stay, but when a thunderstorm cut short our afternoon in Gwydyr, we arrived back at Tan Dinas to find that Eileen had baked us a fantastic chocolate cake, having anticipated our early return! This was just illustrative of the care and attention she paid to our group. John is also a superb cook - the breakfasts were to die for, particularly his take on Welsh Rarebit, but also his delicious scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The bedrooms are also very comfortable and well equipped, even including a fridge containing fresh milk. The guest lounge is elegant and spacious and there is also an upstairs snug where books and maps can be read and borrowed. If it was possible to award more than 5 stars, then we would do so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
What a pleasure it was to have you all stay. Ten birders all under one roof and all enjoying Tan Dinas as much as us. Fantastic. Thank you for updating me on the many types of birds here in our garden - nearly a RSPB centre in itself. Hope to meet you again one day. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Don't know where to start. Eileen was wonderful. (We imagine John must be as well but, while we didn't encounter him, we did benefit greatly from the best breakfast of our 8-day driving tour through the Scottish Highlands, the Lake District, and Wales. Do NOT miss the scrambled eggs and salmon... Coffee was also the best!) The bedroom was delightful. We also stayed in the Elm room and found the bathroom no smaller than many other b&b's in the UK but far better equipped. (With a 6'4" husband, I do wish that bigger beds were more the norm than they appear to be...but we managed.). The location is heavenly! When we were waiting for check-in time, we sat overlooking the hillside sheep pasture pictured on the website. Positively bucolic and so sweet to wake up to the bleats in the morning (not traffic on a main road, as we'd been subjected to earlier in the week...). Gardens are beautiful. Walk into town through the wood is beautiful..walk back up the road after dinner at one of the wonderful restaurants in the town was the best after-dinner amble! We want to spend weeks here.... Also, Eileen's guidance sent us through Snowdonia on a most wonderful final drive through Wales. We were thoroughly enchanted and entirely grateful!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Sorry you didn't get to meet John. He spends lots of time in the kitchen ensuring his breakfasts are the best. Sourced locally and bought daily he really takes a pride in his cooking. Most reviewers comment to this effect and he was delighted to hear you voted his skills the best from all the B&B's you visited. Thank you so much for your wonderful review - it put a spring in our step all day, kind regards and every best wish to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent a wonderful two nights here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had mentioned it was our anniversary when booking - purely as a reason why we were coming at that specific time. Lo and behold! We were really touched to find an anniversary card waiting for us in our room. This is just the sort of touch that makes the experience personal and special and will live on in our memories. The whole anmbience is wonderful, from the view outside, the room we had and the amazing breakfasts. Also Eileen's friendliness is much appreciated. This B&B should be rated Number 1 in Betws -y- Coed. The only problem with that though... it could be fully booked next time we come! :-)
A big thank you again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
How nice it was that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary and even better to learn how much you enjoyed yourselves. It was a pleasure sharing our home with you and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Everything about this b&b is fantastic The owners couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The village is very quaint and the area pf snowdonia is outstanding. Would recommend it to anyone. We will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyline123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It takes time to write reviews and we do appreciate the effort and time you have taken. Thank you. We are delighted to hear you are coming back and that you have recommended us to other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Tan Dinas Country House and it was just magnificent. Our room (Elm) was nicely decorated, very comfy (a small minus was the bathroom, fully equipped, but a bit small). Breakfast is a feast; Eileen spoils her guests while John is preparing cooked breakfasts.
A good starting point for exploring Snowdonia.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room "Elm" has excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRCPAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
It was lovely to have you stay with us and that you made the very most of this amazing area in which there are so many things to see and do. We are very happy you enjoyed our service and home. Thank you for recommending us and for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#3 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing