We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ode to Tan Dinas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Ode to Tan Dinas”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you should go to Betws-y-Coed
This B&B you'd be daft to avoid!
I can honestly say wholeheartedly,
Tan Dinas is the place for me!

Location-wise it is sheer perfection
A short walk from 'Pair' bridge, in an upward direction.
In this village, there's scarcely a quieter spot,
I know Betws well so I kid you not!

The house is cosy and SPOTLESSLY clean,
It would seem Eileen is a cleaning machine!
And as for the breakfast(s)...well, all I can say
Is I wish I could eat there EVERY day!

The girls and I had such a great time
I felt inspired to write this rhyme.
Thanks John & Eileen! I don't know when
But I sincerely hope that we see you again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegoStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Oh thanks so much for this lovely poem. Brilliant, creative and extremely kind of you to find time to write it. Hoping you will all come and join us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
408
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Tan Dinas over the May Bank Holiday and it was a perfect retreat away from the crowds. Our room was emaculate and tastfully furnished. Our host's were fab. Eileen was so friendly and John an excellent chef. It was all that we could have wished for. Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
It's always exciting to have celebs stay here and so we were thrilled you chose to stay with us. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and are looking forward to your return next year. Many thanks for the review, so happy you liked the house and its' amazing location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were greeted immediately and treated to a cup of tea and biscuits with the beautiful country side our view sitting outside in the sun! The building was immaculate and full of character. The service was of the absolute highest order and nothing was a to much bother for our hosts. I was in Wales to participate in a triathlon and I had an early start. When Eileen (host) found this out she arranged to wake early a cook me breakfast outside of the normal serving hours. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time there. I have one regret......I should have booked to stop longer.

Kind regards Chris C R.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
John and I found it really interesting to hear about the Slateman Triathlon and would loved to have watched you compete, however, there were jobs to be done here - maybe next time. Thank you and your wife for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks also for taking the time to write a review - it means alot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The breakfast was amazing with a variety of choice to suit all needs! Eileen made us feel really welcome made us feel like we were visiting a relative! She was extremely helpful in giving us directions and better ways to get to places! We stayed in the Willow room which was immaculate with great features and outstanding views! The B&B is very convenient and not too far from the village! We are already planning our next visit!

Thank you Eileen and John for a fantastic experience!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWEZAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
When you next feel the urge to have another adrenaline rush like plummeting to the earth or swinging through the tress, do come back to Snowdonia where you will find adventures galore and do stay with us again, we so enjoyed your company. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tan Dinas this weekend for our trip to Snowdonia. We stayed in the cedar room which was well sized, bright, spotless, well equipped & had fantastic views of the valley. The en suite was also a good size with an excellent power shower. John & Eileen were perfect hosts, John cooking an excellent breakfast. There was great choice, all the usual plus a veggie option, salmon & scrambled egg, Welsh rarebit. Eileen was so friendly,knowledgeable & helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Suggesting places of interest even drawing us a map, drying our boots, making restaurant enquiries & providing sunscreen. She suggested an alternative route to the usual on Snowdon which we went with & found better than our plan. A brilliant place to stay, really felt like a guest in their home. If we return to N Wales we wouldn't look to stay anywhere else. If a rooms available we d definitely stay there. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay - you certainly made the most of it sightseeing and climbing Snowdon. Happy to note our advice was good. John and I get out and about as often as possible and take a pride in showing our guests places perhaps not on the everyday route. Thank you for a very descriptive and useful review for ourselves and other prospective guests. Here's hoping we can welcome you both again in the future to share our home in this beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at Tan Dinas at the beginning of May. It was just perfect. Our room was exceptionally clean and it is great location in Betys-y-Coed .Great views from our room (Elm) and the breakfasts were outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpaulwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and Johns breakfasts which are something special I agree. We do hope you will come again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It has been a while since we stayed at this lovely B&B, but this very very clean and friendly B&B deserves an excellent review. Eileen and her husband are very welcoming people. They take the time to tell you everything about Snowdonia and the walks in the neighborhood. Breakfast was excellent and a good start of the day before one heads off for walking. Location of the B&B is perfect since it is a little out of the hustle and bustle of Betws-y-coed. However it is still close enough to walk to the nearby pubs. Moreover Eileen showed us the woodpecker who is a regular visitor to the tree next to the B&B; for us city people, the first woodpecker we ever saw in real life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is nice when guests appreciate the effort we make to keep our high standard of housekeeping. I cannot recall for definite when you stayed as we only have your "userid for this account" but want to let you know that Timex, our resident woodpecker continues to
delight the guests along with Harry the Hedgehog who has joined our happy band recently. We hope you will soon come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#3 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing