We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My sister and I had a great 2 night stay - too short a break! It's a great base for walking the beautiful northern welsh mountains, and the room and breakfast were first class standard. the village is charming too. Thank you Eileen and John for your warm hospitality and good food - we would love to come back again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

It was special having you and your twin sister stay and sharing our experiences in Nepal with you. We wish you every success and enjoyment on your trek to Base Camp and hope you return to climb some more of the beautiful mountains on our doorstep in Snowdonia National Park. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 679 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed at in many B & B's in the UK and Tan Dinas is by far the best. It's location is away from the noise of the town while still within easy walking distance of the many cafes and resturants. Our room was on the first floor and was beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything that you many need, the biscuits and sweets were a nice touch. The bathroom while compact was spotlessly clean and very functional. We were there for three days and each morning had a different breakfast from the menu and this set us up for the day. We have stayed at other B & B's in Betws-y-Coed and experienced problems with parking, not at Tan Dinas their car park was the best we have come across. John & Eileen are wonderful host and we will stay with them again when we next return to Betws-y-Coed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Featherski57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

How thrilled we were to receive your review. To remember us 9 months after your stay speaks volumes and we thank you. John and I do our utmost to ensure our guests have a good holiday and parking their car is certainly part of the experience. Our car park will hold twice as many cars as guests which means there is always space! We are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's really hard to try to think of something different to say after all the lovely reviews, so "fantastic" just says it all. Stayed 2 years ago for my birthday and always promised ourselves we'd go back soon, so we did last weekend and were delighted again. Many thanks Eileen and John for a lovely weekend.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank handy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

What a lovely weekend we all shared - 9 guests, 7 of whom had stayed with us before including yourselves. It's like opening the door to our friends and then having a party. Our repeat business rate is 29% and we appreciate it so much. It was great to meet you up with you again and we hope you will come back soon. Thank you for you kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This lovely B&B is up on the hill of Betws-y-Coed. Lovely grounds with beautiful gardens and a lovely view. Room was comfortable and very clean. I woudn't recommend walking back in the night when its raining though, road isn't very wide. Breakfast was lovely, hosts were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby-shmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay in October. We still have up on our notice board the lovely letter of thanks you left for us. We are happy you liked your room, Willow is a particular favourite with its king sized bed and period fireplace. The walk from the village is delightful and although the lane is not very wide, it is only used infrequently by traffic and benefits from street lighting which is a real plus in this rural area. Pleased to see you had a long and enjoyable holiday throughout Europe and we hope you will come back and stay with us when next you come this way from Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely to go back, always a wonderful relaxing time in the wonderful company of Eileen and John, the house looks even more beautiful, superb food, the warmest of welcomes, if it is your first stay and you are not sure where to go or what to do then Eileen will give all the information and guidance you could want, lots to do and the perfect place to start every day from.

Room Tip: All the rooms in Tan Dinas have great views and are of excellent quality.well insulated and you cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentkeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Manager at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Fantastic New Years Eve spent with you and your family and our other guests, thanks for coming and for being such great company. Thanks also for the review. Nice photo of Timex our resident woodpecker on one of the many bird feeders in the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We love this B & B, as not only is it clean & welcoming, but you could not meet a nicer couple who run it. John & Eileen always make us so welcome but also all other visitors as well, eveident at breakfast. Once in your room though you can relax and unwind in this quiet location.
We will always return to here as it is a springboard for going walking to any spot you wish if that is what you want. John's breakfasts really set you up for the day and are always consistently lovely.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous but the ones at the front have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Our guests are always amazed about the idyllic and peaceful location of Tan Dinas and the beauty of the grounds and woods. We are happy to know how much you love it here and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back when you have finished your planned "journey of a lifetime". Good Luck and every best wish to you both. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

.We had a flying visit to wales so we had to visit Tan Dinas for one night, and as usual it stands out from the crowd.Eileen and john are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble.
Room nice and warm and absolutely spotless.Enjoyed johns perfectly cook full welsh breakfast.Couldnt ask for anything more.Thank you .

Room Tip: all rooms are superb, stayed in all of them over the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

It was so nice having you here, if only for one night this time. Thanks for the review and many, many thanks for your repeat business, it is appreciated, as is your friendship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $86 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing