We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal spot for MTB-ing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vagabond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vagabond
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal spot for MTB-ing”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I planned a weekend away mountain biking with a group of mates for my 40th birthday. The Vagabond is in a great location and it's easy to get to some of the trails in North Wales.
We rode out on the Friday to do the Marin Trail
Saturday we went to Coed-Y-Brenin (about 35mins away)
Sunday we did Antur Stiniog (about 15-20 mins)
The accommodation was ideal for our needs. With secure bike lock-up.
Mark, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and the place always seemed clean and tidy.
If we go back to North Wales I'm sure we'll use The Vagabond again..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DStar-LED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
17
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've stayed in many hostels across the UK and Europe and were disappointed with the Vagabond. There are a few misleading points on the website. The general cleanliness and upkeep of the place is poor. The kitchen is large, but not well equipped for self catering and has no personal food storage facilities. The bar and evening meals are probably there if you ask for them (we ate out/cooked for ourselves) but weren't offered to us. Finally the advertised climbing wall is not insured, consists of dodgy holds screwed directly onto the side of the building and we decided not to risk it.

However, the cooked breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. We had the whole place to ourselves so it was quiet.

As many other reviews mention there are 4 showers in one room for the whole building with shower curtains rather than doors- not private at all but with cooperation from other guests you can avoid embarassing moments.

We'd say the vagabond is fine for large, young groups. Not great for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManyAplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi manyAplace, thanks for your review are deeply sorry we did not come up to your expectations. Still shocked at the dirty remarks as we clean top to bottom most days. I do all the cooking for the Vagabond and I must say that it has everything required to cook for 36 people.

We have a large fridge in the kitchen for food storage and plastic boxes as well. The bar is open from 17.00 if you want to use it and you can also order food at the bar if you require (as it states on the menu board in the common room).

Good point about the climbing wall, as we have planning permission now granted to extend of that wall and we have not maintained it. I have now taken it from the web site. The new extension will incorporate more showers, so when all funds are in place we can move forward with this.

So please in future come back to the Vagabond and if you have any problems just ask a member of staff and we will help.

Kind Regards

Neil
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having stayed at the vagabond last weekend I have to say the place was fantastic, the manager was very pleasant and couldn't go enough for us all. The rooms were comfortable and clean and other guests friendly and considerate. The bar was a little noisy but that's what bars are isn't it? Wasn't in my view that bad it needs a bad write up , a few girls came back late and had a few drinks in the bar and yes there was noise but you have to remember if you want a quiet place to stay then a cottage in the middle of nowhere would be a better choice than a bunk house. In my view it provides an excellent all round budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review Daz. Kind Regards Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Initially looking at the reviews it seemed that they are either great or poor. Having visited The Vagabond I can now confirm that everything complained about in the poor reviews is correct. The place is dirty, with poor facilities, cheap sheets that bobble and cheap matresses. There are only a few sockets for charging things. It is very noisy, and this is not the other guests but the manager who seems to make more noise after midnight than the guests. From start to finish the manager was miserable and brusque, but maybe he's like that until after midnight!

Room Tip: go somewhere else or at back of the house away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandyw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Mandy, Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay at the Vagabond. We take all complaints very seriously. Please feel free to ring me and let me know what further improvements you would like. The Manager did say it was noisy that evening so on behalf of the Vagabond we are sorry you did not have a good nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fabulous location. The staff couldn't do enough to help. Great atmosphere. Helpful suggestions for things to do in the local area.I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. I will certainly be returning, hopefully before long. I would recommend this place without reservation to people travelling by themselves or in groups.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the room at the front. Sunny, beautiful views, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 949travellingJo949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here over 2 nights as a base for climbing Snowdon. Our group consisted around 15 kids and the same amount of adults. All ages for catered for brilliantly. Full English breakfast was excellent. Kitchen facilities were great. The rooms were clean and tidy as were the shower facilities. Mark the Manager looked after us all brilliantly. Great place to stay for a large group. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the vagabond with a couple of my friends. We were on a mountain biking holiday and we found the vagabond bunkhouse a brilliant place to stay, with very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and tidy. Wash facilities, also very clean and always a hot shower to come back to after the days biking. Great secure lockup for the bikes and nice off road parking too. We found the staff great and good craic too. Would recommend the vagabond very highly and will deffinitely be back for another biking trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivankendellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Property: The Vagabond
Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bunkhouse is extremely well equipped, sleeping a total of 36 in spacious comfortable rooms of 4, 6, and 8, all with clean fresh linen, duvets and personal reading lamps. Self catering facilities with complimentary tea and coffee in a large well equiped kitchen. Seriously hot showers, freshly cooked food for individuals or groups who do not wish to prepare their own and a great bar for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing