We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fantastic Weekend in Snowdonia April 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vagabond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vagabond
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Fantastic Weekend in Snowdonia April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have just returned from staying over the weekend at the Vagabond Hostel Betws Y Coed. It was a last minute decision to go and walk Snowdon the weekend of the 14th / 15th April and so I thought it would be best to stay overnight somewhere close. I have driven through Betws Y Coed many times and thought how pretty the village was and purely stumbled on The Vagabond by browsing the web as they are not on the normal Hostelbookers website etc. All I can say is excellent!! we had a double bed and a room to ourselves which was an unexpected bonus,and we very much enjoyed the chunky chilli evening meal and the full english breakfast which we certainly needed after walking up Snowdon twice. The staff were really helpful especially Mark the owner, nice bar and social area with unlimited tea and coffee. All in all excellent value for money in a lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephie204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Manager at The Vagabond, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Hi Steph

Great to read your review. Many thanks! The Vagabond is a great base to explore the mountains of
Snowdonia and our Chunky Chilli is getting epic status!!!

See you both again soon.

Mark
Manager
Vagabond Bunkhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
17
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

this was my first time in Wales and staying in a hostel/bunkhouse....I must admit I wasnt expecting much from the accomodation, needless to say I was very surprised. The place was very clean, beds were comfy, staff were very helpful and efficient and full of local information. The facililities were great and the breakfast and dinners were great value for money and tasty at the same time. Try out the bar in the Vagabond for metting your fellow travellers and enjoy the craic of the manager and owner.....very highly recommended, had a great time and look forward to making another visit someime in the near future...

Room Tip: room 2 has a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Manager at The Vagabond, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Hey Jason, Thanks for your great review. Glad you decided to stay with us on your first visit to Wales and appreciate your custom. As an independent bunkhouse we try and cater for all travelers.

Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We’ve just come back from our second stay at the Vagabond and loved it as much as the first. Relaxed, comfortable, clean and great value..Highly recommended, it’s everything you want in a hostel without the usual strict regimes some have.” Hot showers and warm rooms too!”. Saturday night was great, drinks in the bar, homemade chicken curry which was very tasty and fantastic value ( remember to book as we didn’t last time and they’d run out of lamb shanks, you must tell us when they’re coming back!) a 5 minute walk to Betws and then back for a nightcap..We’ll be back soon....

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thanks for your review John! Next time I will have the lamb shank in the oven for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

As far as hostels go, The Vagabond was average. Had a lot of trouble trying to get hot water in the showers, and ended up having to call the emergency contacts who told me to fiddle with the boiler until I got it right, as there were no staff after around 7pm. It was a chilly night, and to make things worse the radiator in the room didn't seem to be working, and as mentioned earlier there were no staff around to ask for help. Overall it was at best an average stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wongmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Very sorry about the showers.We have a water pressure problem and the plumber (bless him) is trying his hardest to sort out. We have full piping hot showers once the pump is set in the morning. Have checked all the radiators/heating and they all seem to be working fine.

Many thanks

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed with a group of friends for a walking weekend. The hostel has all the facilities you need and some nice extras like free tea and coffee and a bar area. Good location close to pubs etc in Betws-y-Coed. Breakfast was good and flexible if you want an early start or a lie in. But the best thing about this place is the relaxed atmosphere and the attitude of the staff, very friendly and helpful and no bureacracy like in the YHAs - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor room is more likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at The Vagabond having booked it for my friends for a two night walking trip. The welcome was warm and our six bed room was spacious and spotless. I love the almost unique trait of proving duvets! The breakfast was fantastic cooked to order, lovely thick bacon two sausages egg beans and tomatoes, not to mention the unlimited toast!
The complimentary tea and coffee all day is another bonus I've rarely seen in such value accommodation but fab after a cold wet ascent of Tryfan! As are the hot showers.
For £17 a night and a fiver for breakie I don't think there's a better bunkhouse in Betws-y-coed and I can't wait to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superted1396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

having never stayed at a bunkhouse before didnt know what to expect..... but bejesus the Vag didnt disappoint. What a gem of a place, great facilities, great location, clean and warm, friendly atmosphere. Want to thank Mark and the gang for making us feel so welcome and laugh...... god my sides were spliting. Really looked after, food fantastic (even though had mouth like "Ghandi's flip flop", due to excessive alcohol (yes they have a bar on site also, result), my own fault. Would highly recommend and will definately be going back...... I am now officially a VagHag, see you all soon guys.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Property: The Vagabond
Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing