We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vagabond
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
101
51
18
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
51
18
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrying roombunk houseextension leadstag dodecent barwalking triphot showerhearty breakfastevening meal and breakfastlong daysoutdoor activitiesgreat place to staybunk bedsself cateringwarm welcomeperfect baseoff road parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 188 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at The Vagabond having booked it for my friends for a two night walking trip. The welcome was warm and our six bed room was spacious and spotless. I love the almost unique trait of proving duvets! The breakfast was fantastic cooked to order, lovely thick bacon two sausages egg beans and tomatoes, not to mention the unlimited toast!
The complimentary tea and coffee all day is another bonus I've rarely seen in such value accommodation but fab after a cold wet ascent of Tryfan! As are the hot showers.
For £17 a night and a fiver for breakie I don't think there's a better bunkhouse in Betws-y-coed and I can't wait to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superted1396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

having never stayed at a bunkhouse before didnt know what to expect..... but bejesus the Vag didnt disappoint. What a gem of a place, great facilities, great location, clean and warm, friendly atmosphere. Want to thank Mark and the gang for making us feel so welcome and laugh...... god my sides were spliting. Really looked after, food fantastic (even though had mouth like "Ghandi's flip flop", due to excessive alcohol (yes they have a bar on site also, result), my own fault. Would highly recommend and will definately be going back...... I am now officially a VagHag, see you all soon guys.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you are looking for great value for money in an ideal locationi then this nice clean bunkhouse with very good service and a proper hearty breakfast will tick all the boxes! And it's got a great little bar as a bonus! We loved it here..

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just back from an awesome weekend, stayed at the Vagabond as a base for walking and mountain biking, perfect trails on the doorstep and not too far from Coed y Brenin either. Really relaxed and friendly with a great bunch of like minded people. We had the curry on the Saturday night with promises that it would be pretty special, it didn't disappoint and it was a total bargain at £6.
Offers much more than the usual bunkhouse in terms of comfort (from our experience of staying at many other bunkhouses), it's a little more expensive than some but it's warm, clean, there is a bar on site for drinks in the evening, a decent sized kitchen with everything you'd need, odd showers - but at the end of the day are clean and the water is nice and hot, and great owners / staff who obviously love the place and made our weekend really great. Thanks guys, no doubt we will see you again next year, Simon & Laura.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just got back from a fantastic two-night stay at the Vagabond. Went there with a mate for a mountain biking weekend and this place really delivers. We stayed in a 4 bed-room which we had to ourselves as a couple of friends couldn't make it due to car problems. Great room, comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff - with great local knowledge and advice - we had a good laugh with them in the bar on both nights, nice hot showers - perfect after a day on the trails, good bike-wash and secure lock-up. Location is perfect, the atmosphere in the bar is friendly and chilled-out and the food is great - breakfast was top notch and the curry was beautiful (we forgot to pre-order it so the nice chap behind the bar let us try some leftovers... delicious, and that was cold! would definitely recommend so don't forget to pre-order!).

This place had everything we needed and more. We've stayed in many bunkhouses up and down the country and this is by far the best. We will definitely be going back to the Vagabond. (Rob, room 3)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews