We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bunkhouse with everything you need in the heart of Betws”
Review of The Vagabond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vagabond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent bunkhouse with everything you need in the heart of Betws”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you are looking for great value for money in an ideal locationi then this nice clean bunkhouse with very good service and a proper hearty breakfast will tick all the boxes! And it's got a great little bar as a bonus! We loved it here..

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    48
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
17
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just back from an awesome weekend, stayed at the Vagabond as a base for walking and mountain biking, perfect trails on the doorstep and not too far from Coed y Brenin either. Really relaxed and friendly with a great bunch of like minded people. We had the curry on the Saturday night with promises that it would be pretty special, it didn't disappoint and it was a total bargain at £6.
Offers much more than the usual bunkhouse in terms of comfort (from our experience of staying at many other bunkhouses), it's a little more expensive than some but it's warm, clean, there is a bar on site for drinks in the evening, a decent sized kitchen with everything you'd need, odd showers - but at the end of the day are clean and the water is nice and hot, and great owners / staff who obviously love the place and made our weekend really great. Thanks guys, no doubt we will see you again next year, Simon & Laura.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just got back from a fantastic two-night stay at the Vagabond. Went there with a mate for a mountain biking weekend and this place really delivers. We stayed in a 4 bed-room which we had to ourselves as a couple of friends couldn't make it due to car problems. Great room, comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff - with great local knowledge and advice - we had a good laugh with them in the bar on both nights, nice hot showers - perfect after a day on the trails, good bike-wash and secure lock-up. Location is perfect, the atmosphere in the bar is friendly and chilled-out and the food is great - breakfast was top notch and the curry was beautiful (we forgot to pre-order it so the nice chap behind the bar let us try some leftovers... delicious, and that was cold! would definitely recommend so don't forget to pre-order!).

This place had everything we needed and more. We've stayed in many bunkhouses up and down the country and this is by far the best. We will definitely be going back to the Vagabond. (Rob, room 3)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

i stayed at the vagabond last weekend and i must say i had a great time, contradictory to the last comment the guy in charge was the less stressed guy on site, yes there was a situation last weekend where the guy was put in to that situation by selfish guests who decided to help them selves with vagabond stock which in my eyes was very inappropriate and inconsiderate behaviour towards other guests so i think he handle it quite well under the circumstances he was put in.
i had the stew on saturday night and it was fantastic, £6 for eat all you want, with fresh bread rolls , bloody great man,. what more can i say ,, great value for money all round.
keep up the good work guys, and remember you cant please everyone and take the criticism on the chin.
paul room 6
o yes get the showers sorted

Room Tip: great views from room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699paul699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Basic and cleanish hostel but expensive for what it is. The chap in charge seemed very stressed the whole time. Made guests feel like naughty school children over really trival matters. Good example of really bad customer service that put a dampener on our groups weekend. Id avoid unless really desperate!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nbcapella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tividale United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I was visiting family and atayed at the Vagabond. What a pleasure it was, the staff extremely helpful, giving advice on places to go, it almost felt like I'd been taken to them.
It was so pleasant every evening a glass of wine before dining, doesn't get much better. Also the manager's friend Marcus was such a lovely person also very helpful, just like a son.

A very friendly and comfortable place to stay, would certainly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Frendly and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen-men-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed at The Vagabond with 6 friends for a long stag weekend in July - The Vagabond was the perfect base, being bang in the centre of the fantastic little town of Betws-y-coed. Mark and co. were great hosts and can't do enough for you. The whole place was super clean, very friendly and great value!

We were looked after so well - the breakfasts are fantastic, well worth inlcuding in your stay! Unlimited tea and coffee and a fry-up every morning was truly awesome!

Also, the guys are super knowledgable about the area and gave us great tips on where to go and what to do. They have a great little bar in-house, BBQ's out on the terrance, loads of outside seating on a raised terrace where you can enjoy breakfasts or an evening beer.

My best memory will be coming back from an absolutely knackering day of hiking and climbing to see the friendly faces behind the bar serving me a cold pint to enjoy on the terrace in the sun with some music playing in the background.

Top notch, thanks so much guys.

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes with mixture of bunks, single beds and some with doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eternal_optimist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Property: The Vagabond
Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bunkhouse is extremely well equipped, sleeping a total of 36 in spacious comfortable rooms of 4, 6, and 8, all with clean fresh linen, duvets and personal reading lamps. Self catering facilities with complimentary tea and coffee in a large well equiped kitchen. Seriously hot showers, freshly cooked food for individuals or groups who do not wish to prepare their own and a great bar for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing