We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had never stayed in a B&B before so werent quite sure what to expect but Bod Gwynedd was everything we had hoped for. Our room (5) was comfortable and clean. The ensuite was clearly quite new and very usable. Breakfast was good and very filling with something for everyone. The house is ideally situated on the edge of Betsy, close enough to walk(less than 5 mins) but quite despite being on the main road. A great base to explore Snowdonia, would definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
326
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Had a great weekend at Bod Gwynedd - as always! Lovely comfy rooms, great showers and the breakfast was really good too!! Have stayed a few times, but this was our first visit since the new owners moved in. We were not disappointed & everything was as good as always - considering they had only been there 4 weeks, they seem to be doing great!! Will definitely visit again (we didn't get to do our planned walk because of the rain) - lovely village & scenery - great base for sightseeing. Only thing that spoilt our trip was the weather!!!
Would recommend this B & B to anyone. Lovely, friendly people. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights in September, unfortunately I fell off my mountain bike on the first day and broke my hand. We received a really personal service from Bev and Joe, helping with hospital info and directions, even ringing to check we had got there ok and seeing how I was! Broken bone aside, they were very friendly, so helpful and we felt really well looked after. The rooms were a good size, really clean and comfortable with nice little extra touches to them. The breakfast was lovely and there was a place for us to store our bikes. Brilliant place, would definately stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our first visit to Wales and we couldnt have picked a better place to start than the Bod Gwynedd in Betws-Y-Coed.As soon as we arrived we recieved a warm welcome and throughout our stay Joseph,Beverley and Jessica were fantastic,nothing was too much trouble.We stayed in room 5 which was a lovely room with a big comfy bed and every morning had a good selection of fruit,yoghurts and cereal finished off with a full english breakfast which was delicious.The location is great,Betws is a lovely village and the scenery surrounding the house is beautiful.There are lots of little shops and some lovely walks with nice places to eat on an evening.Thankyou for a lovely stay we will be back to see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBorrowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at Bod Gwynedd in Betws-y-Coed for a few days and it was excellent Bev and Joe couldnt do enough for you the food was very good the rooms where very clean I just cant say enough We are going back there next year.We would recommend this B&B to everybody.
Mr&Mrs Rickhuss (Shropshire).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed four nights at Bod Gwynedd in September. Beverley and Joseph were really friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Our room was spotless, beautifully decorated and very comfortable with a very modern en-suite. Joseph's cooked breakfasts were really nice - not greasy and he does poached eggs brilliantly! Food is locally sourced, too. Only five minute walk to Betwys-y-coed centre where there was a choice of food - hotels, bistro, Chinese, bars. The town itself is very pretty. We shall definitely book Bod Gwynedd B and B when we return to North Wales. Thank you Beverley and Joseph for a great stay! Mary - Kent

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was twin-bedded. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

After a wonderful overnight stay two years ago, we were looking forward to a five-day visit this year, meeting up with friends. We were surprised, and a little apprehensive, to be greeted by new owners, since we'd made the booking with the previous owners, David and Mary-Ann, who were going to be a hard act to follow. Beverley and Joseph have just taken over the business and are new to both the business and the area - however, they are doing a great job of maintaining the very high standards of comfort and cleanliness set up by their predecessors. The rooms are spotless, with big comfy beds and lovely, modern efficient showers - I don't think you could ask more of a B&B room. The breakfasts are still delicious, and the packed lunches excellent value at five quid. Because they were in transition, there were a few glitches like the internet not working, but Beverley went out of her way to try to help out, offering her personal dongle to us, and even leaving out her laptop set to the right page so we could check our flight! Other little touches gave them an A for effort - like putting out crystal glasses in our friends' room when they saw they had brought a bottle of whiskey with them.

Because they are new to the area, Beverley and Joseph may not yet be able to recommend things to do, so for me I'd say definitely stop in at Bodnant garden, a few miles up the road and surely one of the most beautiful in Britain - oh, and while you're there, try the Welsh Rarebit in the tea room - the best I've ever had. Portmeirion is also a fun day out, as are Caernarfon and Conwy castles. The little Welsh castle at Dolwyddelan, very near by, is very scenic. The slate caverns at Blaenae Ffestiniog are interesting, and a good way to get out of the inevitable rain! If you decide to walk up Snowdon, be aware that when the train is not running (as it doesn't if the weather is bad), the tea room at the top will be closed, leaving you with no shelter to eat lunch, or even a loo!

If you need shopping (other than souvenirs and walking gear), probably Llandudno is the closest place with decent-sized shops.

For eating, the best places in my opinion are the Pont-y-Pair pub, the Bistro and the Ty Gwyn - you'll need to make reservations for the last two. The Dragon Chinese is closest, but I didn't enjoy my meal there (however, my companions thought is was OK).

Overall, you won't be disappointed if you book Bod Gwynedd. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rooster_ramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#8 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glyntwrog House
Glyntwrog House
#15 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Courthouse (Henllys)
The Courthouse (Henllys)
#19 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bod Gwynedd is a Bed & Breakfast situated in Betws-y-Coed in the Snowdonia National Park, North Wales. We have a range of rooms including Single occupancy, Twins, Kingsize and 4-Poster for that added touch of luxury. All rooms have comfortable beds, powerful showers and modern heating and glazing. We offer a full cooked breakfast, freshly made fruit salad and cold breakfast dishes including allergy specific options (with prior notice). All rooms have ultra modern 24" TV/DVD players with the full range of Freeview and Internet "catch up channels." We have off-road parking, level parking for motorbikes and highly secure bike storage. Check out our reviews to see what our guests think of their stays at Bod Gwynedd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing