We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Colwyn Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Beddgelert, Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Temeplaye...
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hideaway”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Might not be for you if you want luxury, but otherwise an idyllic hideaway for two - cosy, homely, comfortable and functional. Elaine and Ed are warm, friendly, helpful hosts and although their house is only a matter of yards away you feel completely secluded with just the river for company. There are delightful quiet forest tracks on your doorstep but the honeypot of Beddgelert is only just down the road. Despite only staying for a couple of nights and booking at short notice there were flowers, chocolates, milk and a bottle of wine to greet us. Happy to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: WiFi not available due to fault
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Many thanks for the lovley review it was great meeting you both and having the oportunity to show you the new Snowdon Lodge with all its mod cons. We hope it will be open by Mid Septmeber , so for anyone wanting all the extras Snowdon Lodge is for you sleeping ideally 4 but will accomadate 6. Colwyn Lodge is ideal for couples and we welcome their pets.
Hope to see you back soon dont forget the 10% discount when booked direct very best wishes Elaine & Ed Snowdonia Holiday Lodges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey O
1 review
“Wonderful location and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

from the moment we arrived Ed and Elaine were great, oh and i must not forget guiness the dog who had to put up with one of our grumpy ones. Great little cabin with everything you need to stay but then more was supplied, wine, chocs, dog treats, brilliant and felt very welcome. Got a sighting of their new 2 bed cabin as it arrived while we were there, its very very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderful and friendly
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Hi Good to hear you had a brilliant time here at Snowdonia Holiday Lodges.
The new lodge is bedding in well but still a little ground work to do before its up and running . Hope to see you back again soon
all the best Ed & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and setting
Liked least: Lack of storage space in the bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Thank you for such a positive review , we have taken on board the valid comments about the storage and are reviewing the storage arrangments and will adjust this as soon as possible. We would love to see you back and thank you for letting people know we have our own website.
Very best wishes Elaine & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Hi glad you all had a great stay and enjoyed all the forestry walks hope to see you back again soon best wishes Ed & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and hosts
Liked least: none!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Well we cant thank you enough for such a lovley review. We are always pleased to know that our guests enjoy the lodge so much including our 4 legged friends.
We have hens now as well so along with the milk and wine we hope you will enjoy the fresh eggs on your next stay as well. Looking forward to seeing you agian soon best wishes Elaine & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Hi all, as always we are so pleased when our guest enjoy their stay Especially our 4 legged ones. You will be pleased to know the second lodge will have 2 bedrooms and sofa bedroom so a little more room next time and should be in situ in the next few weeks ( plus dont forget your returning guest discount) hope to see you all back soon very best wishes Ed & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely break away”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great time staying is this lodge. We where made to feel very welcome and the accomodation was great. Elaine and Ed had an excellent knowledge of the area which came in very handy. We will be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2015
Hi Really pleased you had a good stay , we hope smokeys blanket arrived in the post look forward to seeing you again soon Best wishes Elaine & Ed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing