We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely little cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tryfan Cottage

Tryfan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tryfan Cottage
The lounge and dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Tryfan Cottage
The lounge and dining area
Lounge
Lounge - with log burner
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bathroom
The grounds
The grounds
Beddgelert Village
Beddgelert Village with river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beddgelert, Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Naomi G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely little cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our 4th time staying at Red Dragon and again we had a lovely stay, the staff were welcoming and helpful and the cottage had all that we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohe
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a few little niggles but a great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tryfan cottage is simple and quite small but in a great location close to the foot of Snowdon and three miles from the charming village of Beddgelet.

There is no mobile coverage at all. The internet was down during our stay. There is one very nice cafe very close by. There is good dog walking and wild mountain goats in the garden.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2016
Hi, apologies for the internet problems. Bt have now restored our connection and we are all up and communicating again with the outside world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimbless
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Very comfy and cosy cottage with great log burner. Lovely welcome with kitchen essentials provided, even a bottle of wine to get the holiday started! Beautiful setting nestled in snowdonia.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfiel...
North Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm,clean,and great location”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked Tryfan cottage as a last minute weekend break and we were very happy with it.
The cottage was warm and cosy with a log burner ,tv , comfy bed and a pull down sofa bed .
We even took the dog with us as Red Dragon are "dog friendly" which is a bonus for us.
There was a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us ...a nice touch also fresh flowers .
Location is great for walkers as the Watkin path for Snowdon is 2 minutes from the cottage as are many other great walks .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky E
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a lovely cottage,countryside,village,people. Dog friendly”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at tryfan cottage over the new year and enjoyed every minute of it, we arrived to find the cottage was toasty warm and a welcoming pack of wine,mince pies ,bread,milk, tea coffee and sugar. After a four hour drive and snow on the ground this touch was priceless. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and the same goes for the lounge TV,DVD,free view,wifi but the best bit has to be the real log /coal burner, the bedroom was plush and bathroom to match with large shower. Tryfan is also dog friendly which is a real bonus as my best friend got to come on holidays with us. the squirrels birds and welsh mountain goats visiting the garden kept my eyes busy when not out and about. All in all a truly great place to stay. Ricky

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LinSheari...
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our second time at Red Dragon Holidays and it did not disappoint. Claire was so welcoming and warm and there are so many little extras that are in the cottages for self catering which add that welcoming and homely touch. We cannot wait to return next year for a third visit. The surrounding countryside was wonderful and our three dogs loved every minute of their first ever holiday. We cannot speak highly enough of Claire, the cottages, and her team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
I am blushing now, see you next year Phil and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous base to explore this lovely part of Wales”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The area comes a close second to the Peak District. The walks can be done by all levels of walkers. The café - 350m down the road is amazing.- all locally sourced food .Also a very good area for train enthusiast's - Welsh Highland Railway was brilliant with the Garretts. The welcome given by Claire was very good and the welcome pack very acceptable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing